Thinking about the past

Having a conversation today about when I was younger got me to thinking. I hadn’t thought about these memories in a really long time. I think part of me didn’t want to because even though there are so many good memories, they are also reminders that there will not be any new memories with some of those people.

I found my self laughing thinking about the time when the group of people I hung out with would all get together at one of the local parks we lived near. All the things that took place down there. I wouldn’t say it was always filled with laughter and fun because there were defiantly some fights.

There were times I’m sure a whole scene was made and people driving past probably thought we were trouble makers. To be honest sometimes those people probably had the right idea. There were so many different kinds of people in one group so naturally it wasn’t always so peaceful.

There were a lot of laughs and there were a lot of tears in those parking lots. I remember one time it was right before home coming my younger brother was riding his bike around and jumping over the parking barriers and the one time he went to jump over it he missed or hit it and knocked him self off his bike busting his face. He broke his front tooth and soaked my mothers yellow hoodie red from all the blood.

I remember being so upset and worried and a friend had sat with me on a picnic table telling me my brother was going to be okay. I had gone to the football game that night since my mother wouldn’t let me go to the hospital with them. I needed to do something to take my mind off the satiation.

My mom had called me part way through the game to tell me and my two sisters the our brother was okay and asked if I wanted picked up. I had pissed off my friends because I wanted to go home with my brother. When I got in the truck the only thing he could say to me was, “do you remember when kay wanted bigger lips?” I laughed and said yeah and his response was, “no she doesn’t.” I laughed so hard at that because his poor lips were so swollen. A few days later though you would have never known he got hurt because of how he heeled.

That’s just one memory of so many more that took place down there. Now I do not talk to most of those people anymore. Whether it be a fall out or just growing up and adult lives taking us on different paths. Looking back now though I really appreciate those memories and I will always hold them close to me because in some ways it shaped things for me today.

There are times I pass that same park and when I see it smile thinking back on those things. I laugh watching my own children play on those same grounds and think to my self if only you knew.

Log in to write a note
January 27, 2024

Great entry. I love reminiscing. There’s just something about looking back to younger days that fills me with nostalgia.