From My Dream Job to Disabled

The last time you heard from me I was working at the Child Care Assistance Program. When I first started there it was a dream I had prayed for over and over. It was a job I had for almost 5 years and saw myself working their forever. A whole lot happened but it started with a promotion promised to me, then taken once my boss learned I was bipolar. Then she unleashed a campaign of abuse on me. HR would not do anything, and I was getting to the point where it took me two hours to get from my house to work because of the amount of pulling over due to panic attacks.

I spoke to my doctor who advocated for me to go on disability. I am on long term disability right now through insurance my previous job held for me. I am eligible for payments for two years due to mental health. I have also applied for social security with the help of a lawyer so that I can move forward with that. I never thought I was disabled when I was working but when the lawyer asked me questions like “do you miss more than twice a month” (yes, I called out once a week) and if I struggled with my own personal hygiene (I did) he made it clear that I was disabled and that he would help me with my case.

Now that I am home full time, my disability is more recognizable. I am allowed to have good days and bad days (though I struggle with bad days and the guilt). I am happy I stood up for myself because that is what brought me here.

I am going to go to bed now, I am sleepy.

Log in to write a note