[Three]

We went to Denver Health and spent much of the day there. I talked to the nurse who looked like a dear in the headlights when faced with “your clinics inability to do their job is screwing up my sons care” and said she would talk to the doctor. The doctor came in who showed me on the computer where she filled out the referral on 11/02. However, she either did something wrong or Denver Health Managed Care did something wrong because it was a referral to Children’s hospital. Not to Barbara Davis. I saw no other referrals (like they claimed) until the one sent at close of business yesterday. They called the managed care, and told them they needed to push the referral through immediately. When we left the hospital I got a call from BDC that the referral went through and I can reschedule the pump saline/insulin start. The hard part about that is I had to use a day today and I am basically using my days as I earn them at this point because thanks diabetes. I dont know how my new boss will even deal with this now, and I frankly would have rathered just this have been my appointment damn it. The best part (or maybe the most torturous) is this needs to be resent every 4 months. So…we get to do this again in May.
 
More Finn Stuff (he was not seen today for his diabetes so you dont get any updates on that). He got the second of his flu shot today and didnt even cry when he got it which is always heartbreaking. This child is so used to that kind of pain he doesnt even respond to it anymore. He was 16 pounds at diagnosis. Today he is 23 pounds and thriving. They are worried about his speech still. His next appointment with this doctor is July/August.
 
We have cut his milk intake in half since diagnosis and we are supposed to cut it in half again (when he was first diagnosed he was on toddler formula because he wasnt eating a lot). Overall the doctor is happy with Finn’s improvement and so am I. We are getting to where we need to be. She told me not to push bottle weaning until we feel like his trauma and PTSD is at a place where he can handle it.
 
So now, I am going to work on rescheduling this and keep moving forward. I am worried I wont be able to do a pump start until March now, because of this set back.  (If you are on my FB sorry about the cross post).
Log in to write a note