A Lot.

A lot has happened since my last post – and a lot of nothing at the same time. Sat around like a lump for a good 3 months; since, been hobbling around and going very slowly.

I fell and broke my foot just before having to host Thanksgiving dinner for the 25+ people I didn’t really want to host. Needed to have surgery so I thankfully wasn’t forced to go ahead with someone else at the helm. Was not able to host a large group for Christmas, thankfully, so also got out of it then. Chosen family hosted a smaller gathering in our house on both xmas eve and day so that I would have the comfort of my own surroundings to wheel in. I started physio in January. That has been going well. For Easter, I demanded to host the smaller Chosen Family crowd – thus putting off the Big Gathering until the holiday season once again.

Then we had a big discussion about whether or not we would host this coming Thanksgiving 2023 because we booked a trip to Egypt and are due back the Friday before. We traditionally host on Sundays – also that would give Hubby a day off before he has to go back to work. We decided that we will host after only just getting back so long as no one comes home sick. If we come home sick – too bad, so sad. I don’t hope to get sick but, man, I won’t feel horrible about not having to host the Big Gathering. The only reason I am agreeing to do so is because of my mom (all her siblings won’t be around much longer and we just won’t do that kinda stuff soon).  We will host some In-Between Smaller get-together instead (because one of my cousins is doing the Big Gathering for Xmas apparently  – I won’t be going, so I don’t care) in the event of illness. Mom has jovially mentioned maybe hosting a belated-Thanksgiving but we’ll see.

New item to factor into all of this international travel and holiday hosting is the positive pregnancy test that we just had yesterday morning – almost a full week late and no positives until just yesterday. I couldn’t understand why I was not having a positive but still not getting my period – I am pretty regular, only ever off by a couple of days and usually early if that. I wasn’t getting my usual lead-up to D-Day physical symptoms (other than irritability) so I had a bit of a breakdown cuz I thought it was most certainly menopause or peri-menopause. Now, I’m optimistic. I have some pregnancy symptoms (my feckin nips!!!) but feel better in general than the last time I was pregnant and it didn’t take.

We’ve an appointment with our OBGYN who we fell in love with the last time – a male (which blew my mind, tbh) who is ironically originally from Egypt. O.O So, it seems like things may be lining up? Maybe.

Hubby has told one co-worker. This time, I feel the need to keep it to myself. Not even my mom who I neeeeeded to tell desperately last time cuz I was so shocked. We’ll see how long I can keep it from her or when I will feel the need to share. Sharing makes it less mine somehow…

Now, I’m not – I don’t think – totally full on about this so if it doesn’t happen, it doesn’t happen and I won’t be devastated. But I do think that this will be the last of us actually trying. I’m 43 now. My dad died when he was 51. So I don’t know how much more I can do…

Log in to write a note
July 6, 2023

My dad died at 51 also. I was 15 when he died. How old were you when your father died?

July 6, 2023

@merrypresent I was 11. *hugs*