I look forward to exploding due to my intake of cheese.

The World Health Organization met today about the outbreak of Monkey Pox afoot on the globe. I stg if MP becomes a thing, I give up. I’m just gonna sell all my shit, set myself in front of the television and order drugs and food until I literally burst. I don’t want to deal with this sh!t anymore. I can deal with isolation; I can deal with taking precautions; I can’t cope anymore with all of that AND the lack of leadership from our government combined with the egocentric frequently bordering on terroristic idiocy from the general public.

Anyway, I look forward to exploding due to my intake of cheese.

We’ve been talking about doing a roadtrip to the west coast from Ontario forever. We were hoping for last September but Covid was ignored out west so that was kyboshed. More recently we were hoping for this coming September but now with gas prices over $2 CAD per Litre… it’s not really feasible.

Aside: I specifically remember gas prices being $0.44 per Litre in the early 1990s shortly after we moved to Ontario – so 1993-94ish – and my mom was griping about the cost of gas. I remember thinking that I needed to remember that day/price because it would be well over that by the time I was her age. More recently, at the beginning of this pandemic (spring 2020) I got gas myself at $0.76 per Litre. This week (spring 2022), we got gas for $2.02 per Litre.

Groceries are insane now too, of course, which would affect our travel budget dramatically. Peanut butter for $8 per kg when I used to pay max $4/kg at the beginning of the pandemic. An overloaded cart at Costco used to checkout for $400-$500 (even mid-pandemic); now, barely half a cart for $325. We only shop at Costco every 2 or 3 months, but still.

Even though it will take some finessing to get hubby to agree in a manner that we will enjoy such a vacation — we’ve been considering going to Egypt since that’s been on my mom’s bucket list. She has said that she would prefer to go there next year now, though, so I’ve been feeling a bit deflated. She already has a trip to the Philippines planned (tentatively) for November – as she is over 70 now, it’s only fair I suppose.

In the wake of that revelation, we’ve been considering Scotland, Portugal, Spain, Morocco or Montenegro. Hubby will likely go with whatever I recommend whenever we do agree it is okay to travel. We will certainly be avoiding the USA due to Covidiots and South America due to the Zika virus since we’re technically still trying to conceive. I don’t really know if Zika is still a big problem. It used to be shoved at us every visit to the Fertility Clinic and we haven’t been there in a while so… I’ll have to look it up.

If we get pregnant before September, I figure I’ll likely still be able to travel. We will probably move Egypt back to the front burner though since travelling with a toddler would be less than ideal. There’s a chance, with my health, I might not be able to though… so many unknowns.

Such is life, I guess.

I am getting very tired of living through “unprecedented times”.

Log in to write a note