R.I.P. Jacob

So recently I had found out that one of my best friends, Jacob had passed away. Well, to be more specific, he was shot. I was never into the type of stuff he was into, and we used to live in “the hood” of my city. I stayed to myself. When I moved, I distanced myself from that but kept my friends close. Jacob was one of them. Unfortunately he didn’t leave that life…. When I found out, I stood frozen, phone in hand. Then it hit me. I dropped the phone and I could hear the screen hit the floor. I could hear the voice on the phone asking me if I was alright. I could hear my friend, Marco screaming my name as i dropped onto my knees. I could feel his hands touch my shoulders. But all I could focus on was Jacob. His smile, his laugh, his walk, and even his talk. I barely noticed the tears going down my face. Once I snapped out of it, I completely broke down. Marco, not knowing what was going on, just held me, patting my back telling me it’s alright. But little did he know it wasn’t. It was anything but okay.Even now, over a week later, I find myself wishing he were here to make fun of the way I set up my stuffed animals against the wall facing away from me, or make fun of my sneeze… I catch myself wishing I could go back in time just to give him one extra hug and “I love you” before he left. I have no regrets. We had amazing times together, and we made one another happy, but I still wish I had more time.

Log in to write a note
December 11, 2020

@zombieinfusedtea thanks🙂

December 11, 2020

First time reader here..

Sorry about your loss.

December 11, 2020

@jaythesmartone its alright. im on the road to recovery

December 11, 2020

Sorry to hear about your friend…

December 14, 2020

@mermycohea thank you.