Back! Again!

I didn’t realize that when my membership expired that I wouldn’t be able to post anything at all. I’ve put off joining back up because, well, I don’t know why. I guess I thought I didn’t need a place to be anonymous anymore. I fired up a new blog at the beginning of the year and have been fairly consistent about posting there but I can’t really just post anything I want to there. Not because anyone I know reads it, atm no one at all reads it. I average somewhere between 1 and 3 views per week. I”m not writing for the views but if I’m being completely honest I would like to get enough views to monetize the site and maybe make a few bucks off it. Maybe one day.

Things are still going pretty well. My health is still very good and I’m still diabetes, high bp, high cholesterol free, 1 year as of May of this year! I’m still caregiver to an elderly parent which is getting harder, much, much harder. That’s starting to wear me down more than anything else. I don’t have any help with them…The rest of my family lives pretty far away and doesn’t participate during the best of times so I can’t really count on them at the worst of times, which sucks. I don’t know what’s going to happen but I do know it’s only going to get harder going forward and I’m not thrilled about that. Oh well, it is what is I suppose.

Feels nice to have this space back so I suspect I’ll be posting here somewhat regularly but who knows.

Log in to write a note
July 17, 2022

If your family can’t help in person, they should at least contribute financially so that you can hire someone to take care of your parent on occasion and give you some off time. Just my 2 cents.

July 23, 2022

@solovoice agree in theory but in practice, it’s tough to make that work, at least from my experience. I make more money than my siblings which they think means I have it all covered but that doesn’t translate in reality.

July 17, 2022

Caretaker fatigue is real. I know the saying is tired but you really need to make sure you are taking care of yourself, taking a break- in order to continue to care for others.

July 23, 2022

@gypsystorm thank you…I feel like my experience is in a vacuum but the more I read about caring for a parent the more I find it’s a pretty common theme. I realized last week that I haven’t traveled more than 45 min from home in close to 5 years. I’m going to figure out a way to change that this year