Perfumes and memories

There was this particular perfume that completely brings me back to childhood whenever I get to smell it. Actually there were two.

My cousin who used to work abroad gave my mom this Channel 5 perfume. My mom since then used it. Before she goes to work, she’d dab 4 small amounts to the back of her ears then to her wrists. After that she’d put two dabs on me. While we headed to school, I could smell it and from there all my imagination started to work. It was more of building dreams at that time which made walking to school a little bit fascinating.

My dad also has this perfume that he used to put after shaving. It was a Brute or Jovan.  He never ever forgot a single day not wearing it. Ever morning I got to smell it and it was some sort of my signal that he was up and ready to go to work. From age 5 until 19, it was always the thing in the morning.

Now that I am an adult and away from them as of now, when I get to smell those perfume, at times, tears would just fall from my cheeks as I remembered not just my childhood but of course, my folks. It was an entire flashback of memory explodes in front of you. It has always been a jungle of feelings overwhelming me everytime. It makes you smile but then again it make you want to go back to the age of innocence where it all started. That’s why right now, I am very picky with perfumes as I want it lasting with good memories.

Log in to write a note