From Bohemia…

I have been in Europe for about a month, Prague for about 3 weeks. At times it seems like I’ve only been here one week, but other times, like today, it feels like I have been here for a year. I am feeling a little lonely today. Often I just have short waves of homesick-ness, but today it seems to be sticking around. Although I live in a dorm with all Americans, I still feel very alone. I am trying to adjust to a new culture, and, despite the fact that I really do love it here, I am feeling a little overwhelmed. I am a minority outside of 3rd floor Kolej Komenskeho. I don’t speak the language, and I don”t know what to do with my free time. Today after class I just watched a movie and it made me more lonely.  It would be nice to hear English when I am out and about. It would be nice to be able to use dollars and to know where everything . To know where I am at, to have a haome, to be able to see my family. I have a lot of free time; normally I would really enjoy it, but today it I am just trying to make the time go by.  I am aware that I need to have this expirience in order to grow as a person, but I am having a hard time letting myself know that it is normal for me to feel like this. I am hard on myself because I’m not out doing more, being more social, not enjoying myself more because I am so blessed. I need to just let it go and be alive.
On a brighter note, there are a couple trips for my program this weekend. I like them because I get to see parts of the Czech Republic I wouldn’t know to go see on my own. That and they are free. I think Friday were are going to see a Concentration Camp (which will be depressing at the least). However on Saturday we are going to go wine picking. I am quite excited about that one… but I am not sure if we are going to spend the day picking grapes as free labor or if we are going to be wine tasting… haha. I hope it’s only its mostly the latter. Then next weekend my friends and I are planning to go to Berlin. I am very excited to go to Germany. I wshould be much fun. I haven’t realy got to do the hostel thing yet, and I will be traveling with a couple of fun girls, so I hope for a fun weekend.
All of the traveling that is going on is making me excited. For the fall break we are planning an "Eastern Europe Tour" we are going to by the Eastern Rail Pass, and use it to go to Slovakia, Poland, and Austria. It should be a good time as well. I have also already bought a trin ticket to Budapest. I am going with a bigger group of people for that trip, so it wil also be a blast. I am glad that I am studying in a country that is central/eastern European with people that want to explore more East ern. I feel like WEstern Europe is where I wuld be more likey to travel on a vacation. This will be a good oppurtunity.
On that note I think I need to get my pot from the boys down the hall so I can boil some tea water. Untill nest time..

Log in to write a note