Loving it!

More old friends showing up here on the “new” OD!  How fun!  Maybe all this hullabaloo is a blessing after all.  I’d love to catch up with what some of you have been doing for the last 4 1/2 years.

It won’t take long to tell my story.  Our lives are filled with long days and short years.  We have slowed down a lot.  Everything gets harder.  I walk with a cane now.  My balance is iffy.  Hate the cane, but do not want to fall.  That seems to be the major health hazard around this retirement community we live in.  It takes us longer to get anything done.  So frustrating.  But we are doing okay. Like Bob says, we’re in pretty good shape for the shape we’re  in.

I turned 80 in February.  Somehow that just doesn’t compute!

We are looking for the arrival of our first great-grandbaby around the first of June.  He will probably be a month old before we get to meet him.  I have dug out my crochet hooks and knitting needles and, after having given away all my yarn, etc. have once again stocked up and am keeping myself busy making little things.

I have cut back on my bridge-playing to only once (okay, maybe twice) a week.  For a few years I was playing three or four times a week and that got to be using all my low store of energy.  This is better, but my quitting those other two groups cost me a friend.  She took it personally and hasn’t spoken to me for months.  Since we live in the same building we do cross paths sometimes.  And it really hurts my feelings the way she snubs me.

We took a couple of trips over the winter.  We spent a couple of weeks over Thanksgiving with my sister in California.  In honor of that “big” birthday in February our son and his wife took us to Arizona for a long weekend.  Our daughter and husband from Montana were able to join us (surprising us!) and we had a delightful time.  We were able to hook up with old friends from North Dakota who “snow bird” to Mesa, as well as some cousins who also spend their winters in Mesa…actually in the same park with these friends.  We went to watch our Colorado Rockies baseball team play their first Spring Training game of the season and also took a boat cruise in the desert.  So much fun!

For those of you with whom I have been in touch with regularly, I apologize for the repetition.  But I kind of had fun thinking about it all again.  I hope this finds all my friends in good health and surviving the weird spring weather.

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 3, 2018

boat cruise in the desert? okay, i’m sure it’s possible cause you said you did it. i got my walking stick from my storage unit yesterday. it’ll help with the aching back when i take Daisy for walks. i think we all sorta slow down after a while. can’t keep up the pace of those darn kids in their 60s!! take care,

April 4, 2018

Some old friends too… I am glad to see you at both!