TOTW3: What is an accomplishment you are particularly proud of?

A: Making the choice to let Medhia go to sleep for the last time.

This weeks theme came at a particularly difficult time, and it is something that I’m proud of.  Six days ago, I choose to send Medhia to sleep for the last time rather than let her suffer.

It wasn’t an easy decision yet at the same time it was.  There was a chance to save her; for maybe a few weeks, by keeping her at the vet’s.  She would have undergone several procedures, been stuck with needles, poked, prodded, force fed pills and other terrifying things.  That wouldn’t have been a good end of life for her.

So I made the decision.  She didn’t go to sleep alone.  I was right beside her, holding her, and letting her know that she was loved.

Why is this something I’m proud of?

Because it’s difficult.  It is so easy to keep a pet, your friend, your companion around as long as possible so you don’t have to say goodbye.  That is selfish.

Instead, I did the hard thing, and let her go peacefully and in almost no pain.  That is how every life should end.

MJG
“for I have sworn upon the altar of god eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man.” ~ Thomas Jefferson

 

Log in to write a note
December 29, 2017

It takes a strong person to do that and you are a strong person. Yes it was hard. A very big accomplishment. I get that so well. You did the right thing. Man, I really don’t even know what to say. ((Hugs))

December 30, 2017

I had to make the exact same decision for my kitty. On Jan 4th, it will be 4 years and it is still as fresh today as it was the next week after he went to sleep. He lived with us for 18 – 1/2 years. He had a great life. I have to remind myself of this practically everyday…