Your Call is Important To Us

Why is it that when I’m on hold, the sound of “Your call is important to us. Please stay on the line and we will answer your call in the order it was recieved” in that montone, pleasant, and typically female robo-voice makes me feel like my call is not so important to them? Especially when the recording interrupts the crappy muzak they have playing to the point where you can’t even get through a musical phrase?

(crappy saxophone) doo do doooo do”Your call is important to us. Please stay on the line and we will answer your call in the order it was recieved” doo doooooooo do d”Your call is important to us. Please stay on the line and we will answer your call in the order it was recieved” doot doooo do

If my call was really that important to you, couldn’t you hire more people to man your phone lines? Couldn’t you offer a voicemail service so that you can call me back when you are available? Wasting an unknown amount of my time doesn’t exactly drive home the feeling that my call is “important”. May as well say “Your call is irrelevant to us. Please remain on the line and we will continue to ignore your call.”

Side note: I have repeatedly encountered a certain piece of call-waiting muzak that sounds eerily reminiscent of Halloween horror music. Like, just as an added cherry on top for holding on the line, here is some vaguely anxiety inducing music to really make this a pleasant experience. Just stab me already.

Log in to write a note
December 7, 2020

same reason it infuriates me to hear a customer service rep read the standard, placating, and condescending message that they really, really care about my issue and it is their pleasure to listen and help.

Please.

December 7, 2020

lol Amen sister!

December 7, 2020

Haha, love this. All of this, I agree 100%.

You should hear Nintendo’s hold music. It is so cool. From Zelda. :3

December 9, 2020

Don’t get me started with the “Press one” prompts. When you finally get somebody on the line to only tell you “Sorry to hear that, please hold while I transfer you to another department” Ugh!!!