In the beginning, DIRT

I’ve been in an awkward mood lately.

It’s not struggling in my faith so much as I believe it, but it’s struggling with the fear noting the world we live in.

I feel like the vast majority of Americans anyways, don’t believe in God. This depresses me. I don’t know why – I used to like that show on History channel called "The Universe," I liked it more so when it was just about the planets in our system, but gosh, just the opening sequence to that show I feel like they’re straight-face slamming the Bible.

The first three words of the Bible – practically anyone knows, "In the beginning…"

Well the first three words on "The Universe" are – "In the beginning," but they go on to say, "…there was nothing, and then BANG."

I like how one Creation Scientist puts it, so basically the two philosophies on how we believe the universe came into being are:

1 In the beginning, GOD

or 

2 In the beginning, DIRT.

That is the truth. If you really think about it.

You choose what’s easier to believe.

I don’t understand it. I remember reading my Social Studies book in Public School and it was sad to just see how they worded it, "After the aftermath of the great depression, and then World War II, many Americans were in a depressed mood as a whole, and turned to religion, and namely, Billy Graham, a Christian Evangelist rose to popularity." As if Christianity was just a passing trend.

Listen if Christianity is just a passing trend, explain to me why it’s been around over 2000 years. Yeah people have been involved, thus it’s not been its greatest, does that give us reason to just ignore it?

Gee, if I treated everything like that. Not every car that’s been made has been exceptional so I’m just going to boycott it? Not every movie has been good, so I’m going to stop watching them. I don’t appreciate all music, and some people can all agree that N’Sync as a mishap in the music industry ( >:) ), so let’s just stop listening to music.

Jesus endures, just as He said He would, and some people, I know, are just never going to accept Jesus – because they’re WILLINGLY IGNORANT. (The Bible says that too).

It depresses me, but at the same time, sets me on fire to be more of an active witness.

One such political cartoon idea has always got me. In fact, I think I might go do it, and post it on here, later 😀

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2011

Are you quoting Kent Hovand? Years and years ago my parents got a home-made vhs of about six of his talks… I watched that tape so much it is now distorted and discoloured and the sound is wonky.