Monday 6/10/24

12:54p.m. I had a great sleep last night. I slept without having any God awful nightmares. I was up for good by six. Breakfast was served by 7:30. I had scrambled eggs, coffee cake and cereal. The aides got me dressed and out of bed by 9:00. By the way I had excellent care. I made my way to the Fiesta Room after I ate. I read my book Landscape Turned Red by Stephen W Sears while I had my coffee. On the way back to my room Culleen grabbed me and took me to the gym for physicpl therapy. 

I did my leg exercises. I love doing those exercises. It really puts me in a good mood to move my muscles. I said to Culleen I don’t play at the gym. Anyways I worked out forty minutes. Culleen took me back to my room by 11:00. I read my book for awhile then went back ack to the Fiesta Room for lunch. 

Lunch was delicious. They served bbq chicken, a cornbread muffin, corn and a fruit cup. I ate it all plus had another coffee. I returned to my room and read until I finished Chapter 9 in my book. Then Chocolatechip called.  

Chocolatechip had a very busy morning. She went down to the M&B for her cigars. She said she bought two cartons. Then she did some shopping at. the Dollar Tree. She started to read do a load of laundry when she got back. Chocolatechip was almost finished when she called.    

I am having a great day so far. I feel much better than I did yesterday. I did a lot of reading in Landscape Turned Red  I have two more short chapters and I’ll be finished. Next up is Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin . Life is good.

3:38p.m. I’ve been getting a lot of exercise. I pushed myself up and down the halls a few times. I went to the Coral room then back up to the nurse’s station. I got a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Then the nurse took my blood pressure. Then I wheeled myself to the activities department. I wanted to make sure I was down for another $50 Amazon gift card. They said they already have me down. Then I wheeled myself back to my room. 

They must of put something in my coffee. I felt full of energy this afternoon. So I burned it off by pushing myself around the facility. Instead of wearing myself out I feel even better. It was a workout pushing the wheelchair but worth every bit. At least I’m wasn’t sitting in my room feeling sorry for myself. 

I also had a long talk with Chocolatechip. She has bipolar depression. She was flying high this afternoon. Chocolatechip was telling talking a mile a minute on many different subjects. One thing she talked about was Eddie the Mooch. She heard he got a letter from the Housing Authority. I bet it was an eviction notice. 

Then she talked about being bipolar. She didn’t know if she was on a high or just feeling good. She never does anything crazy like engage in risky behavior or go on a wild spending the spree. She is really very calm and stable because she takes her meds. 

I said I think you are just feeling good today. Getting out of the building helped put you in a good mood. Also you got through inspection with flying colors. When you you are bipolar you do not know sometimes if you are on a high or just happy. I think Chocolatechip was just happy and that makes me feel good.   

7:07p.m Supper was delicious. I had two big pieces of baked fish, scalloped potatoes, peas and a chocolate brownie.  The coffee was nice and hot. I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She was still ok but coming down from her high this afternoon. We talked for thirty minutes about her sister Elaine. Then she wanted to go to bed.

I started listening to my audiobook Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin. I listened to the introduction and first chapter. This book grabbed me from the start. It is about Lincoln’s relationship with his political rivals. The three Republicans were William H Seward, Salmon Chase and Edward Bates.

The Republicans all ran against Lincoln in the 1860 election. They were all more experienced politicians and better known. Yet the author says Lincoln, the self thought lawyer from Illinois, came to tower over them all. This book explains how Lincoln forged a team of rivals into a stable government that saved the Union through four years of Civil War. 

I love audiobooks. Now that I have a Bluetooth speaker I can listen to my audiobooks on my Kindle. I think they are fantastic and offer a great way to escape from life in a nursing home. Heck reading books offers a great way to escape from reality. I guess I’m just a book acholic no matter how or in what format they come in.

 I haven’t forgotten Landscape Turned Red. I just needed a little break from reading. I have two more chapters to go in this book I intend to finish it tonight and tomorrow. Life is good.   

8:55p.m. I had a very good but long day. I’m in bed after nearly twelve hours sitting in my wheelchair. The hoyer pad didn’t hurt today but I was still glad to get in bed. Yet, I hate  to see the day end thought because it was so good. Tomorrow will bel an even better day.

10:25p.m. I can’t seem to get to sleep. I’m fired up. I’ve been listening to my audiobook Team of Rivals. This is a great book. I found out it the author won a Pulitzer prize.   

 for her work. I’m on the second chapter already. So far the author is talking about the early lives of Seward, Chase, Bates and Lincoln. I find it very fascinating and interesting.      

I hope I don’t pull an all nighter. Tuesday and will be another shitty day of I don’t settle down and get some sleep. I don’t know why I can’t sleep tonight. I was awake all day. I should be dead tired after sitting in my wheelchair for 12 hours. But I’m raring to go

 

 

 

o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 10, 2024

I’m glad you are having a good day Bear.  That makes me smile.  😊

June 10, 2024

@wildrose_2 Thank you for reading me and leaving a comment. This was a good day

June 10, 2024

Hey Bear, I’m so happy you had great day, and I envy you for the lunch you had. I really could go for a barbecued chicken and a cornbread muffin.