Saturday 5/4/24

11:10a.m. I had a good night. I received great care. Thel aides came to change my briefs three or four times. Then I had a very restful sleep with no weird dreams. But I had a rocky start this morning. An aide woke mel up at 7:00 . She picked up my tablet and used it. I didn’t like that at all.  

I had a good breakfast. They served scrambled eggs, toast and oatmeal. The eggs were editable today so I ate it all. The coffee was hot as well. I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. We talked a few  minutes then she wanted to start on her housework. 

I watched tv for awhile. I had it on Channel 9 then CNN. CNN was talking about severe weather and flooding in many parts of the country. I think they were talking about flooding in Texas. Channel 9 was talking about local weather. We are supposed to get some rain today. I watched the news until the aides came to getl me out of bed. 

The aides who dressed me was nice. She cleaned me up,changed my briefs and got me dressed. Then she used the hoyer to get me in my wheelchair. I was feeling pretty good being dressed and all cleaned. But ad soon as the aides left I had a massive incontinence episode. I got upset with myself and cussed up a storm. 

Then Chocolatechip called. We talked on the phone for a long time. I forgot about being soaked. We talked about the news. I said I heard on CNN that college campuses are amping up security for graduation ceremonies. We both agree these protests are senseless. I said I’m all in favor of peaceful protests but they always end up in violence. We had a nice talk about this and different subjects. 

Well that about sums up my day so far. I got my lunch drinks so I’m going to enjoy a second cup of coffee.k Life is good.

 1:14p.m. I just finished a delicious lunch. They are served buttermilk I chicken, green beans and rice pilaf. I ate it all and didn’t get sick. The best part was the hot coffee. The only problem was I had a massive incontinence episode again. Once again I’m soa

I’m anxious to get started in my book Chancellorsville by Stephen W Sears. This book is about the famous Civil War battle fought between May 1-3, 1863. Commanding general of the Army of the Potomac was Joseph Hooker. Comamding general of the Army of Northern Virginia was Robert E Lee. 

I’m really enjoying this book. The author discussed every aspect k of the Chancellorsville campaign. He writes about both sides. What I like about it is he uses many sources from the diaries oes and letters of the men who fought in the ranks. I got a vivid picture of what actually happened. I felt like I was reliving history. In my opinion Stephen W Sears wrote a wonderful account of Robert E Lee’s greatest victory.    

Anyways I’m in a good mood for a change and I will be enjoying a great book on American history, my favorite subject. Life is very good!

 4:04p.m. I am back in bed. I had a nice aide who put me in bed at 2:30. I read for an hour. I finished Chapter 11 in Chancellorsville. It was about the fate of Thomas “Stonewall” Jackson. On the 2nd day of the battle Jackson led a flank attack on Joe Hooker’s right flank. He achieved a great victory. Jackson was mortally wounded by friendly fire. He lost his right arm and later died from the operation.    

I’m on a Civil War kick. My next book will be Gettysburg by the same author, Stephen W Sears I can’t wait to get started. One thing about being in a nursing home is I have all the time in the world to read. 

6:24p.m. I didn’t eat supper tonight. I wasn’t feeling very well. I was peeing nonstop after I drank my evening coffee. Then my stomach was very painfully bloated. On a scale of one to ten pain level was a four. Also have painful hiccups.This made for a very poor appetite. 

I’ve been trying to read Chapter 12 in my book. But I’m making slow progress. It is hard to  concentrate while you are constantly peeing. But I’m determined to read as much as I can.  

7:41p.m. I reached my goal of finishing Chapter 12. I’m moving ever forward to the next chapter.  I’m proud of myself. Despite being sick I kept my eyes on the prize.

My stomach has settled itself and the hiccups are gone. I also got changed. I peed myself again as soon as the aides left. I can never get ahead. 

 

 

 

  . 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ut

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

di

 

 

 

 

 

I h

 

 

Log in to write a note