Friday 5/3/24 part 2

10:42a.m. I’m dressed and in  my wheelchair. Once again I missed the coffee social. The aides got me dressed at 9:00. They left me in bed until 10:00. Then they didn’t hook i me up to my oxygen machine. I had to go to the nurse’s station so I can get hooked up to a portable tank. These aides are not worth a plug nickel. 

I talked with Chocolatechip. She  was doing laundry. Said she washed two loads. I was telling her about my lousy morning. Once again I had to lay in poop for a long time before the aides changed me. She was talking about her broken blinds in the bedroom. She is going to save up some money for new window blinds.  We didn’t talk very long. 

Well, I’m above the dirt and faced with another day in the nursing home. I am going to do my best not to complain and keep a positive attitude. Bitching on OD all the time is not going to change anything. But it will make me depressed.

1:01p.m. I did a lot of reading this morning. I finished Chapter 9 in Chancellorsville . I read until lunch They served two chili dogs and baked beans. I ate everything and didn’t get too sick. I called Chocolatechip. She is baking cookies today. 

I had an extra cup of coffee with lunch. Both cups were hot I swear there is something magical about a cup of hot coffee. Coffee always puts me in a good mood. So thanks to books and hot coffee I’m doing great. 

3:34p.m. I’m having the time of my life thanks to reading therapy. I have been reading Chancellorsville all afternoon. Getting lost in a very interesting book is the best therapy in the world. I love to read about United States history. I’m particularly interested in the Civil War era. I’m into a lot of different things but this fascinates me the most. 

I am in bed now. I had a nice aide who put me in bed and cleaned me up. It is just as well because the hoyer pad was starting to hurt. She put me in bed at 3:30. I was sitting in my chair for a little over five hours. That is long enough for me. 

I tried watching CNN a little bit. They are offering extensive coverage of Trump’s hush money trial. They were showing Trump on tv. I turned it off. As much as I like to keep up with the news I can’t stand to look at that son of a bitch. I guess I’m better off sticking to my books.  

Dr Phil didn’t look promising either. I just had him on for a few minutes. It looked like he had on a catfish stories. It was about an elderly woman blowing all her money on a stranger. I watched so many of those stories and they are all so very sad. So I just turned off the television. 

I met a woman on the Internet a long time ago. It was the biggest mistake of my life. That relationship was a disaster. She had way too many physical and mental health problems. Anyways she moved from Long Island to WV. She got very ill and died on me. To make matters worse people in Misery Towers claimed I killed her. I vowed never again will I meet anyone online. 

Well enough of my little bit of my past. I’m going back to my book

6:23p.m. I’ve been watching the local news while eating supper. It is nice having a tv. Anyway Channel 9 was interviewing local people about the upcoming election. A lot of them are in favor of Trump. Then the downtown library in  Steubenville is having a .25 cent book sale. I was always did like channel 9 news .   

I had a pretty good supper. They served a big plate of Italian pasta bake, spinach, a dinner roll and peaches for dessert. I ate everything but the spinach. 

I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She went on about how the scammers are out in force already. While Chocolatechip was in the laundry room this morning there was this other woman who tried to hit her up for laundry money. Chocolatechip didn’t bite. I said this is the 3rd and people just got their checks! Chocolatechip said that panhandling  is how they pad their wallets. 

We talked about Misery Towers. The building itself is over 50 years old. It is still invested with bed bugs. Chocolatechip said it shouldn’t surprise her if they close the place. Still it is a money maker and it is with filled to capacity. 

I was talking about how three or four maintenance workers were in my room. My room was invested with ants. They sprayed my bed. They also sprayed around the base boards and the floor. I said they must of been on my roommates because he screamed out at them.   

We talked for a long time about different things. Then she wanted to get to bed. I’m faced with yet another lonely night in the nursing home. At least I have my books to keep me company.    

8:52p.m. I’ve been   my book Chancellorsville. I finished Chapter 10 and made a dent in the next chapter I’d like to finish Chapter 11 but I don’t think I can make it. I’m getting tired and am having trouble concentrating. I’m about ready to drop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

D

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ut

 

 

 

 

  

Log in to write a note
2 weeks ago

Bear, I would love to know your thoughts on this book. Maybe in a future diary entry, you could tell us about a particular event in the book that you thought was important/interesting? I’d like to know more about this book and wish I could read it myself, but I’m so busy with chores around the house (and guitar playing, and my “big project,” etc.)