Tuesday 4/16/24

10:56a.m. I’m above the dirt and faced with another day in the nursing home. I am having a better day than yesterday. I slept in until 7:00. I ate a breakfast of scrambled eggs and toast. The coffee was hot today. But I went back to sleep until the aides got me out of bed. 

I finished Oath and Honor by Liz Cheney last night. Cheney was a Republican congresswoan from Wyoming. She has nothing good to say about Trump. Cheney made a good case that Trump was in on on the January 6 insuraction. Trump also knew it would be violent. She believes,and I agree, that Trump is unfit for any public office.  Next up is We’ve Got Issues  by Phil McGraw, Ph.D. I can’t wait to get started on this one.   

I just got my menu . I’m having tomato soup, grilled cheese sandwiches, tater tots and Mandarin oranges. For dinner I’m having chicken Alfredo, peas, a dinner roll and ice cream. I can’t wait. Life is good.   

1:10p.m. Lunch was terrible. I had two grilled cheese sandwiches. The bread was very hard. I could hardly chew on it. The coffee was cold again. But I drank it anyway. I also ate  my lousy lunch and now I’m bloated. Pain level in my belly is a 4 on a 1-10 scale.    

I talked with Chocolatechip. She reported a lot of stiffness in her joints.Arthritis must be kicking in I said. She said she did a lot of  walking yesterday. We talked about different subjects. She is going to Walmart tomorrow for groceries. She wants to buy ingredients to make her famous homemade chili. Your chili is the best in the world I said. 

Then we started talking about Trump. The hush money trial is starting in New York. This is the Stormy Daniels affair. Jury selection is in process. They are trying to find impartial jurors. I said he deserves a fair trial at least. Chocolatechip agreed. We had a nice talk until I had to go.   

2:13p.m. I can’t seem to get started on that book We’ve Got Issues by Dr Phil McGraw. For one thing I’m very bloated. I just got back from the nurse’s station. I had to get some Mylanta. I’m still experiencing belly pain. It’s hard to read when you are in pain. Then I just feel lackadaisical today. I just want to chill out and not do anything today. I dunno. I’ll pick it up after my stomach settles. 

 Then I’m still thinking about that last book Oath and Honor. The author made Trump out to be deplorable. His actions after the election and up to January 6 were treasonable. He almost destroyed our democracy and is still a very serious threat. I hope to hell he is not elected again!   

In any case Oath and Honor: A Memoir and a Warning was an excellent book about the Jan 6 Insuraction. I urge anyone who wants to learn the truth about those dark days to read it. I gave the book a five star rating. 

Well, my belly pain is dying down. I think I’ll give the Dr Phil book a try.     

5:20p.m. I’ve been reading We’ve Got Issues by Phil McGraw, Ph.D. I’m disappointed because it isn’t what I expected. I thought it would be another self help book. Instead Dr Phil talks about so called extreme”activists” on both side of the political spectrum. They are causing great harm to our society by attacking core American values. Then you are shouted down or shunned or labeled a hater if you dare speak up.

I’m not sure I agree with him. But I will give this book a good read anyways. I like to hear ideas from all sources then make up my own mind. Besides, I hate buying any book and not reading it. It is like throwing away money.     

7:02p.m. I’m in a lot of pain thanks to supper. It went right through me and caused a very painful bm. Pain level was a ten on a 1-10 pain scale. It went down a bit but I’m still in a lot of discomfort. God. I was hurting. Sometimes I wish I could just stop eating. 

I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She had a doctor’s appointment scheduled for 3:15 tomorrow. They changed the time and she can’t make it. Chocolatechip said she will have to reschedule tomorrow morning. We also talked about grocery shopping tomorrow morning. She made out a shopping list. Included in the list is a new landline. We didn’t have .much else to say tonight. She was tired and I was hurting. So we said our goodbyes for the day. 

Not only am I hurting I feel a bit down. That Dr Phil book was a big disappointment. I was very anxious to read it. I will finish it. I always finish reading a book I just started.   

I just got a nice shower. The aides were very nice tonight. I got my evening meds and a dose of Mylanta. I feel much better now.    

8:58p.m.I read the first chapter in We’ve Got Issues by Phil McGraw, Ph.D. I’m changing my mind about this book. I thought it was very interesting and I agree with a lot of what he is saying. I’m going to enjoy this book after all. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or

Ortef

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note