Wednesday 5/8/24

10:10a.m. I had a weird dream last night. In this dream I had a dog. He jumped in this lake or rivet. The dog was under water but he tried to swim to the other shore. I was on there shore wanting to save him. But I couldn’t swim myself. My dad was standing on a dock yelling at me not to jump. Somehow we got the aides dog back. He was ok but very wet. I had to dry him off.   

I was up for good by 6:00. I called Chocolatechip.She was still mad over yesterday. That was a rude thing to say to women. She was also pissed at Eddie the Mooch. Chocolatechip said she was definitely done with him. We talked for a few minutes about other things then they served breakfast drinks.   

 I had a nice cup of hot coffees and a glass of oj. Breakfast was delicious. They served biscuits and gravy. I ate it but my stomach was upset for awhile. I called Chocolatechip after I ate. No answer. I laid in bed watching CNN. Then the aides came to get me into my wheelchair. 

Well this is the day. I came to this nursing home four years ago. It doesn’t seem that long. I can’t believe I liked it here at first. But that didn’t last long. I had to battle with the aides every day for basic care. That changed my attitude real quick. I hate it here now and I wish I had my old apartment at Misery Towers.      

12:00p.m. I made it to the Fiesta Room for lunch. They are serving country fried steak, potato wedges, green beans and a dinner roll.  I love country fried steak so it ought to be good. I don’t know why but I feel like getting out of my room and at least make an attempt to be social. 

4:01p.m. I’m in bed already. I feel so tired today. I made it back to my room after lunch. I got so sleepy. I fell asleep in my wheelchair . I woke up after an hour. I was going to read in the Coral Room for awhile. But I got very sleepy and again and went back to my room. I asked the aides to put me in bed. They came right away and took good care of me

Chocolatechip called . We talked for an hour. She was telling me how she went to the bank and post office this morning. They also got a security guard for Misery Towers. He starts tonight. Visitors now have to sign in. We both agree they need one after staff leaves. Then this is bingo night. Bingo starts early because they will serve dinner. Chocolatechip said she will go down at five. I said I’m glad you are getting out more.   

I said I talked with the boss at activities. They are going on a Walmart trip this month on the 15th. I said Walmart does not sell Amazon gift cards. She said they will stop at Krogers or Dollar General. So I will definitely be getting a $50 gift card. I said to Chocolatechip I already have three books lined up.  

We had a nice talk. We talked for almost an hour. I really enjoy talking with Chocolatechip. She is all I have and she always brightens my day.

I want to try and read before supper. I’m on Chapter 2 in Gettysburg by Stephen W Sears. This chapter begins with Fighting Joe Hooker being summoned to Washington for a meeting with President Lincoln. The purpose was to discuss what to do with the Army of the Potomac after its loss at Chancellorsville. Also, the Corps commanders of that army lost faith in Hooker. He would soon be replaced by George Meade.     

5:16p.m. I’m taking a break from my book Gettysburg. They are about ready to serve supper. I’m getting glazed chicken, brussel sprouts and Copenhagen stuffing. This sounds pretty good but I’m not very hungry. I ate a big lunch so I might decline.  

Chocolatechip called. She went to the Community Room. They were already eating dinner. They had Shepherd’s pie. She gave had her share and left. Chocolatechip said she was up early and didn’t want to stay for bingo. I said I didn’t blame her.   

Supper is late tonight. They usually serve dinner around 5:30p.m. I’m getting hungry after all.    

8:30p.m. I ate all my supper. It was good. I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She was pissed. We didn’t talk until for long because she wanted to go to bed.  

I’ve been reading my book Gettysburg by Stephen W Sears. I read for a straight two hours. I finished Chapter 3 I hope to stay up and finish Chapter 4. Both chapters are about reorganizing the union and Confederate armies. I had a hard time remembering the names of the new corps commanders in the Union Army. Oh well I’m not studying for the big test. I read just for pleasure.   

I was hurting a little bit ago. I was laying in poop and urine since supper. The aides finially came back They were not happy but they cleaned me up and changed my briefs. They did a good job. 

Hey

U

 

 

 

 

 

T

  

Log in to write a note
2 weeks ago

I am glad though that you receive some kind of care and three basic meals every day.  Glad your coffee was hot this morning.

2 weeks ago

@wildrose_2 Thanks I do get some care and the food isn’t that bad. I guess I should consider myself lucky