103.8

I had therapy today.

He has a plant in his office, it’s been half dead for well over 6 months; I mention it often – how he needs to cut the half dead leaves off to allow resources to be used for the healthy leaves and new growth…I can’t explain why I care about that fucking plant so much. But I even threatened to bring scissors in and cut it myself.

It’s been over a month since my last session due to scheduling conflicts & the first thing I noticed walking in today? He finally cut the dying leaves off that fucker..and guess what? It had also grown 2 new sprouts.

If nothing else. It’s a useful metaphor.

 

I don’t know what the average duration of trauma therapy is, but I certainly didn’t envision myself still going a year later. Things usually come pretty easy to me; letting go of the past is apparently not one of those things.

 

Log in to write a note