Pressure

Sometimes there are so many thoughts in my head, I feel overwhelmed, and I get that craving to journal – to take the jumble of thoughts and lay them all out, organize them, make sense of them…but when I start to type, they’re gone.

I quit therapy awhile ago – I got frustrated. Sometimes it just feels like I’ve invested years and thousands of dollars and made zero progress. But then I look at my life, and I’m functioning…and I think, well, I must be doing something right? Except. Haven’t I always been “functioning”- high functioning, even. Isn’t that the very problem I went in with? That I look fine, and I “feel” fine, and I act fine – but then, I get intrusive thoughts that make me want to harm myself, and panic attacks that land me in the hospital, and sometimes I get rage-y and suicidal. And even when I’m fine, I go to sleep every night feeling like a failure – I’m fine, but, also, I’ll never be enough.

And sometimes my therapist seems to think that what I want is for everything to be perfect, a life without struggles – that I am making myself unhappy because what I want is unrealistic. It feels like he thinks the things I want, are just too much. But the things I want, are the whole reason I’m in therapy. I don’t want to have panic attacks anymore. I don’t want the flashbacks. Or the intrusive thoughts. I don’t want the rage. And if these things are all too much to ask for, then what the hell is the point.

So I quit. And then after I ended up in the hospital. I went back. Because, all I’ve ever wanted is for someone to fucking be able to help me.

Because I have read every book and I can’t seem to help myself.

But I’m about to quit again. Last session he suggested that I go get a prescription for something to take when I have a panic attack – and while, I understand that his intent was that it would ultimately make me feel better/safer to have that option…I’m not in therapy so I can have drugs do the work for me. I can do that without therapy. Isn’t taking a script just another coping mechanism? Another way out. Something to get you through the moment, so you don’t have to do it alone.

I don’t want that. I want to be strong enough to do it myself. Is that really too much to ask? Is that unrealistic of me?

Log in to write a note
DH
February 11, 2024

Its not unrealistic. You’ve got to be really dedicated in your ways I’d think. What do you do to relax or cope when these things happen?