Anyone have a really big cardboard box??

So a month or so ago we got notice that my landlord is now in foreclosure proceedings for our house.  Pretty much signifying that we need to move, most likely we had 6 – 9 months though to accomplish this.  If the landlord didn’t turn it around.

With school being so crazy, and the fact that we have been able to find NOTHING comparable, I have put this out of my head as much as possible.  Basically figuring that sooner or later, a great place would be advertised and we would scoop it up.  

That’s pretty much how we got this house.  We just perused Craigslist and when this house came up, i got it!  

Well, now the other day I got a text from our less than awesome landlord, asking if we were interested in buying the house.  As much as not moving sounds like an amazing idea.  Really, no.  This house is too small and in not the area where i’d want a forever house to be.  

And at this point in my life, i’ll be 35 in a month, I’m past the "starter’ house.  

I don’t want to own this house.  I just want to live in it a couple years longer.  Unfortunately that is no longer an option.

So we are on a mad search, with very little money.  That issue is going to need to be worked on.  (Daddy??  and yes i am aware i just said i’m 35, but what the heck else am i going to do?  we shall see).

Our issues, we need to be able to keep our dog, I want to keep the girls in the same school district if at all possible, and I’d like my rent cost to be comparable.  Doesn’t SEEM like a huge list of wants, but it has been impossible to find much of anything.

The only thing i have found, is the place we lived before this one.  A complex of townhouses just  a couple miles away.  I"m calling there when they open this morning to see if any units will even be available then.  

I am sad, upset, angry, but trying to make the best of it.  I don’t want to go back to semi’apartment type living, but it’s looking like unless i want to give up the dog that we bought the girls the day after their father’s funeral, put them in the city school district, or pay $1400/ month (almost double what my costs are now and NOT in the realm of my reality), then this is the best option.

I am really hoping that it works out.  My husband isn’t that thrilled as he will lose his own yard/shed and all his bigger machines (tiller, lawn mower, whatever), our fishing boat, utility trailer, and whatever else are going to be spread among our relative’s homes for storage and safekeeping.

it feels like giant step backward.  I am so upset. 

On the bright side, this house is tiny, only 912sq feet.   The townhouse is 1200sq ft plus a basement.  and it has a dishwasher, and central air..  

so anyway, it is what it is, not a whole lot i can do about this situation except figure it out i guess.  I know in the end, it will be fine.  Just right now, i am really sad.

EDIT:

I called, they have one open right now, of course.  I really want to move more like Aug. 1, or Sept. 1st.. but we might just have to get it done sooner. i don’t know.  we shall see.  going to look at it tomorrow, although we obviously know what it looks like already.  lol. 

Log in to write a note
June 13, 2013

RYN: Done! 🙂

June 13, 2013

Oy, just what you need right now 🙁 I hope you find a great place soon, even if you have to move into the townhouses in the interim.