Tonight, my friends, I dine…

There is eating, and there is diningNever confuse the two.

Tonight I join chef Daniel Boulud at Restaurant DANIEL for an intimate seated dinner for 60 benefiting ment’or BKB foundation.  The non-profit group focuses on enhancing the skills of young culinary professionals.  The dinner is a bit odd, as it is hosted by someone billed as a “culinary MC”, Billy Harris. Why a dinner needs an MC escapes me, but there you are.  A tad modern, for my taste.

The food, however, is right up my alley!

MENU

Passed Hors d’Oeuvres

  • Hamachi Tartare, Wasabi, Lemon, and Smoked Trout Caviar
  • Citrus-Cured Tuna with Anchoïade, Niçoise Olive
  • Brochette of Seared Wagyu Beef with Pickled Onion and Tarragon Sauce
  • Sweet Pea Pomponette with Morels
  • Comté Gougères with Beaufort Béchamel
  • Crispy Duck and Foie Gras Craquelin with Rhubarb Coulis

1st

  • Ceviche of Maine Sea Scallops with Finger Lime-Wasabi Vinaigrette, Cilantro, Avocado Mousseline, White Sturgeon Caviar

2nd

  • Warm Provence White Asparagus with Hazelnut Oil, Jamón Ibérico, Watercress, “Hollandaise au Vin Jaune”

3rd

  • Calvados Flambéed Hudson Valley Foie Gras with Honeycrisp Apples, Celery, Licorice and Claytonia Salad

4th

  • Gaspésie Salt Meadow Lamb with Stewed Shoulder and Roasted Chop “Navarin”, Spring Vegetables

Dessert

  • Tarte Citron Meringuée with Sorrento Lemon Cream and Confiture with Ganshu Berry Meringue, “Cedrat” Confit
  • Madeleines and Petits Fours

All paired with wines, of course.  So it should be a pleasant evening.

Log in to write a note
May 9, 2018

A bit too fancy for my tastes. But I hope your tux is pressed.

May 9, 2018

sounds a bit too rich for me……did you enjoy the food?

May 10, 2018

@jaythesmartone The food was amazing, and surprisingly light.  Well executed by the chef.

May 9, 2018

yum.

May 10, 2018

you live well

May 12, 2018

The dessert is not for me but just about everything else…yes!…