Tainted Water

I’m so sick of dealing with the tainted water here. We luckily don’t drink the water here, we never have, but we use it for everything else. Many people have switched to bottled water for everything but we are still using it for showers and daily use. Everything was okay originally but they performed a “flush” and ever since my skin is so dry and itchy it’s unreal. It’s to the point if I scratch my skin starts bleeding. I’ve been trying really hard not to scratch it and am mostly successful, it does look like it’s healing but I’m just so annoyed. There’s no end in sight as they just keep “flushing” the homes that come back testing positive but they’re only testing randomly 10% of homes. So, how does that even make sense. When any of those homes test positive they just reflush that home. What a joke.  My home hasn’t been tested, most peoples haven’t. This is such a monstrous f up! If we weren’t moving later this year we would move for sure to a place with city water lines but 6 more months and hopefully where we are going will have better water. 😳

Today is Wednesday so my daughter gets out of school early. I’m going to take her and our neighbor to the skate park after school. She’s been into skateboarding lately and even got her friend to learn. Since her best friend moved away last month I’m trying to be extra accommodating to her and have been taking her to the skate park a couple times a week. It’s just not a place I can drop her off though, so i bring a lawn chair and sit on the outside of the skate park where I can watch her and make sure she’s safe. There’s a lot of people there for sure but a lot of them are drinking and smoking weed. I’ve told her just to mind her own business and stay in her lane, so taking her friend has been helping with that.
Hoping today is a better day and I can let some of my internal anger go….  😒

Log in to write a note
February 2, 2022

I’m afraid to ask what’s going on with your water that they keep testing and flushing random people… and why won’t they test yours? I can’t imagine all that itching to the point of bleeding can be very good or healthy for you.

February 2, 2022

@caria jet fuel tanks leaked into the water supply. So all of the places that use the water supplied by the navy here (we aren’t navy but the navy is the big man base here) has been affected. Originally they said our neighborhood wasn’t affected, that our water came from a different source, but botu before and the flushing some houses have come back with crazy high levels of petroleum. Luckily it’s not my whole body that’s itching, mostly my legs but it’s really annoying.

February 2, 2022

They’re not testing everyone, just 10% randomly, it’s the one of the stupidest things I’ve ever heard. This whole ordeal is beyond my comprehension. The pipes are pvc and will hold petroleum. The navy’s answer is that that’ll filter a lot of water, then “flush” our houses which is just them running the taps and flushing to toilet a few times and that all will be fixed 🙄🙄🙄

February 2, 2022

@boring this is why government intelligence is such an oxymoron. Unbelievable.

February 2, 2022

@caria they’re seriously lacking 😳

we are very lucky, there’s some families that have it really bad and are dealing with a lot of health issues from it. We weren’t drinking the water because have a water cooler because we didn’t like the taste of the water here when we moved here so I’m definitely grateful for that

February 6, 2022

I am sorry this is happening.

Your post reminds me of Erin Brokovich and the story. I know the movie is a true story, so you would think that by now they would make sure that cases similar don’t happen again.

I am sure you doing what you can, but please don’t settle and let the People of Power get away with this, especially if it is serious.

Stay safe. ❤

February 6, 2022

@ncumisa yeah its really sad but military instillations and ships have this issue all the time. Talk to to someone in the navy and they’ll tell you oh well you’ll be fine, we had our water contaminated all the time on the ships and we’re fine. That’s great for you, but my kids and I didn’t join the military. None of these families are and it’s really eye opening to watch and see how little the navy cares. I love where I live but I am excited to move to A place with clean water 😕😳

February 6, 2022

You are moving to a place where there is clean water?

February 6, 2022

@ncumisa we are being restationed this summer and we are planning to maybe buy a house or rent a house and not live in base housing so yes!

February 6, 2022

👍🏽😘

February 6, 2022

Yikes, sorry about the water situation. How frustrating!