Pain In My Toe!!!

So lucky me *sarcasm*… I had to go to the ER yesterday cause even the weight of a blanket was extremely painful on my left big toe… So they took a look at it and told me I have an infected ingrown toe-nail… Which I pretty much figured considering my toe was tender, swollen, and red all around the upper corner where my nail meets my toe… So they prescribed me an anti-biotic that is in the same family as Penicillin which I am deathly allergic to… But because it’s not the same (apparently it has similar inactive ingredients) there is a good chance I won’t have a reaction to it… But I have to monitor myself very closely just in case… Oh joy… I figure it could go 50/50 either way…

The sad reality is if I do have an allergic reaction I may not even notice cause the most common reactions is red, itchy, rash-like skin… I have severe Psoriasis covering 80% of my body (for 11 years now) so it’s ALWAYS red, itchy, and rash-like… How am I suppose to tell the difference?!?

They also said I need to be soaking my toe every 2-3 hours in hot soapy water and trying to stay off my foot as much as possible…

Plus I have to call a Podiatrist tomorrow and see if I can get an appointment so they can remove the ingrown toe-nail… So yea I am not having a lot of fun right now… Also makes it hard to sleep when every time the blanket hits my toe I about come undone from the pain… Yep…

Log in to write a note
February 6, 2018

I’m so sorry to hear about your ingrown toenail and the infection. I empathise with your situation, as I had this myself a few years ago. However it must be so difficult for you considering that you are allergic to penicillin as well. Please do keep a close watch out for the ‘telltale signs’ or if you feel worse in case you do have a reaction.. take good care of yourself. and do persevere with the soaking treatment.

I can’t even imagine the pain and difficulty you must be going through, especially since even the slightest movement of the blanket causes so much discomfort.

Take care, God bless and get well soon my friend

February 6, 2018

@atereques Yea it’s pretty painful… I am monitoring how I feel closely and my skins reactions as best I can… Thank you 🙂

February 6, 2018

Oh ouch! I hope it gets better soon!

February 6, 2018

@thediarymaster Thank you 🙂 I appreciate that…

February 6, 2018

Oh man, I used to have chronic ingrown toenails and infection and it was the worst so I feel your pain! Hopefully you can get it removed asap because even though the antibiotics might kill the infection for now, they obviously can’t stop it from arising again if the toenail keeps getting ingrown.

Hopefully there’s no issues with the antibiotics! Good luck!

February 6, 2018

@colourmyworld Thank you… I have chronic ingrowns as well and it’s always my big toes…

February 6, 2018

oh no! would epsom salts help with the soak? feel better, take care!

February 6, 2018

@thesunnyabyss Yea I been doing those since it started… I think grouped with the anti-biotics I am now on it’s helping speed the healing up…

February 6, 2018

Ingrown nails are the worst

February 7, 2018

@wasdazeddahlia Yea they are…