The Real Me!

[I wrote this poem a few years ago and I thought I would put it in here for you all to read…]

  • by C.McConnell

When you look at me what is it you see?
Do you even see the real me?
You say you love my eyes,
How they sparkle and shine,
But do you even see what they have to hide?
You see their color,
You see their shape,
But can you see what’s beyond their shade?
Look into my eyes,
Tell me what you see,
Do you see all there is to me?
All the pain that I hide,
Secrets untold,
Emotions I have shared,
Feelings that I won’t,
Truths yet to share,
Lies I have told,
Passions I long for,
Dreams to unfold,
Can you see all my questions?
All my doubts,
All my fears,
Can you see the girl inside?
Cause I haven’t seen her in years,
She loves unconditionally,
She feels things for real,
But maybe you should ask her,
Can she see beyond her tears?
The things she has seen,
The things that she knows,
Her knowledge alone could make your blood run cold,
She’s so young and so scared,
Yet she’s wise beyond her years,
Do you even care?
Do you even know?
Or is that little girl truly alone?
Can’t you even see that she wants to come alive?
If you turn your back she might not survive,
Cause that scared little girl,
The one you cannot see,
That fearful little girl,
Is the real me!

Log in to write a note
January 1, 2019

Being real is always the best…Looks like you are very real to me….