Acceptance and peace

The truth – when TS came out to me a month (!!!) ago, it was shocking. And I was so sad. I had no idea what my future would look like anymore. I was ready to pack up, move back to my home state and start over. I was expecting to go on ourtime.com to start dating but then realized I was still too young for that dating website. I was panicked. Then I went to therapy. Then we had many conversations. And we had some more. Then she bought some new clothes and makeup and she let me straighten her hair.

And I saw her. And most importantly, she saw herself. It was wondrous. The absolute joy and peace.

A week ago, we came out to all the parents. My in laws are amazing. My parents…..my dad. I mentioned to a friend that I entered the new year, the new decade, that I am now an orphan. And frankly, I’m OK. Everyone keeps on telling me that I need to worry about myself. I agree. I need to make sure my boundaries are drawn. That includes excluding people in my life who don’t consider my feelings and are hateful.

I have been doing a lot of research for groups to support me. TS hasĀ  many resources. But for someone in my position, there are some, but not a lot. For example, there is the Straight Spouse Network and many YouTube videos of straight spouses telling their individual stories. On some level, I can relate to them but for the most part, not really. It’s taken me no time to accept this. I’m cool. I know there will be days when I’m annoyed by it all, but for the most part, I’m fine. Many of the videos were from “trans widows”; basically straight spouse who now saw them selves as widows because their spouse had died. TS is the same person, she’s not dead. I don’t think of myself as a trans widow. I sometimes feel as though something is wrong with me to be this accepting so quickly. I know there isn’t, but I don’t relate well with the straight spouses.

Yesterday, we made it Facebook official and came out to all our friends and family. The whole thing was positive. I have found my cold, icy heart was warmed by the people in our lives when they would ask how I was. Through my research, the straight spouse is often overlooked because the transgender person is the focus because it’s a huge change. They get the attention. I am OK with this too. But the basic asking of my feelings and whatnot was nice.

Anyway, as of right now, I am good. I hope you are as well.

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2020

The proper support group is always hard to find, more so in some categories than others, but always hard, nonetheless. Can you consider starting with individual therapy w/a professional, & getting referrals from them? I’m not sure what else to offer (besides myself!), as I’ve not been in your situation. I hope you do find the appropriate group.

January 6, 2020

@thenerve The therapist I had did suggest the straight spouse network. And from what I’ve read, it’s a great community. Just not what I’ve been looking for. TS actually reached out to her community and there are a number of couples in our same situation in which the straight spouse isn’t mourning. I’m reaching out to these people to maybe start something, somewhere. I also appreciate your support!

January 7, 2020

@cappygirl – Interesting. Let me know how it goes. The only thing I have against group therapy is that a lot of times every individual is trying to be the star of the show, because everyone feels they’re the ones most affected. Or they treat you like they know better. Or there’s simply the issue of feeling naked divulging such sensitive parts of your life.

May 12, 2020

I’m glad that you’re able to be so accepting of TS. To me, it would be very difficult to be in your place.

Good luck with finding a support group, though. It is very helpful as you go through this time in your life.