Giant Pink Inflated Condom… what?!

Here is my parental rant for the day.

So driving home yesterday I see a billboard with a giant pink inflated condom and some caption like "Sexual Health, why not?"

 

whatever.

ummm, I was not amused or happy to see this giant pink condom and I was more than glad my kids weren’t in the car.

I could hear it now "Mom… what’s that thing?"

And I’m supposed to then proceed to explain to my children, who are 8 and 10 years old, about condoms, contraceptives, sex, safe sex, blah blah blah.

 

I really don’t give a fuck what you did with your kids, these are MY kids and I am NOT talking to them about sex right now. They are still young enough to retain at least a little innocence. They’ve already been exposed to far too much and I’m not going to fill their heads with sexual facts just because. I think it’s rude and disrespectful for anyone to think a billboard like that is ok.

what if I had smaller children? what then? A 5 year old is even more likely to ask about a big pink weird thing on a billboard.

Seriously, it pissed me off.

 

Once again: I DON’T CARE WHAT YOU DID WITH YOUR KIDS. Those are your children, raise them how you see fit. I’m not judging you or asking for advice. I’m ranting. I’m mad. I’m spouting off steam that something like that is deemed appropriate for a huge freakin billboard. I know some people will think that’s sooo great and my kids already  know about condoms and we talk about sex and blah blah blah… GOOD FOR YOU. not good for me. I don’t need to be told how to introduce topics to my children. You do it your way I’ll do it mine and don’t you dare think your way is better than me because you’re full of shit and you stink!!! lol.

 

Each way is equal as long as we are all loving parents with our childrens best in mind.

 

and the best for my kids is not involving a giant pink condom at the ages of 8 and 10.

It pissed me off.

ugh.

the end.

i’m going to go pee.

 

Oh yeah, I have a ticker. Look at that!

 

 

 Humanity Scar: Last Words (Journal 1) for your Amazon Kindle today! Click Here! 

 

 Click here for amazon.uk page!  

 

CLICK HERE FOR PAPERBACK EDITION!

 

 Basic E-Reader editions will be available soon! I’ll keep you posted!  

 

http://www.humanityscar.com   

 

 http://www.chaosindreams.com

 

  Would you like to be on my fiction mailing list?

 

 Leave me a note or email me at themuse@chaosindreams.com for details 

 

        Humanity Scar   

 

 (A zombie apocalypse survival diary, for your reading pleasure and future knowledge when they take over the world. Yes, I am the author.)  

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2012

I was going to say I agree with you but I’ll just duck and run instead….zooooooooooooooooooom!!! 😉

February 22, 2012

I agree 100%!!!

February 22, 2012

Amen!!!

personally I just hate billboards more so than i do commercials. With commercials I can change the channel or station. Billboards, no matter what kind of crap they promote are just a bloody eyesore. I really wish they’d just do away with them. And i agree, I really hate when what is promoted on a stupid billboard results in a conversation with any child on a subject they are not ready for.

I feel you!!!

February 22, 2012

I told all six of my kids about sex when they were five years old! You are a terrible parent! Someone had to…

I agree with you completely. I hate that shit.

February 22, 2012

around my town they have billboards about syphilis and various stds….its…just…awkward lol

February 22, 2012

I understand society is more open about these things in general now-a-days…but that doesn’t mean everyone wants to (nor needs to) be. I’m sure several other parents feel the same about that condom!!

February 22, 2012

Hugs.

February 22, 2012

Totally understand you…..that is just crazy.

February 22, 2012

i’m all for promoting safe sex, but a giant condom is not the way to do it.

February 23, 2012

i agree with ya 100% on this one! 🙂

February 23, 2012

I love that billboard. And open discussions about all sorts of things. But I have no kids. Because I keep eating mine.

I have no kids, so… I just want to see the billboard. :p