NaNoWriMo The first 265

I don’t have a title.

This is VERY rough.

Please don’t expect much.

the first 265 words of my NanoWrimo thing. I’ve sort of gotten on a roll… by setting my goal LOW it allowed me to feel less pressure. I said “200 words!” and got 265! wowza!!!

so yeah. If anyone else signed up for that NaNoWriMo thing, they should totally try it this way. It opened me up to feel less like I had a unreachable goal… now it’s totally reachable! I’m doing 200 words a day… and hopefully that will stretch and as it gets easier i’ll raise it. I believe the QuirkyMoon is doing this as well… anyway, here is what I wrote =)

She could feel her insides crumbling. Brittle and frozen, she felt herself shattering. The only warmth was directed towards the bundle she held to her chest. Soft breaths catching the frosty air and changing it pink with some sort of fire. Yet she could not touch it. She dared not. Even if it was her own, she dared not take the risk of seeing what it could.. And would do.

Slowly she lifted her foot off the ground. It crunched down into the snow that drifted like a wall of rocks around her waist. She pushed forward, the pain in her legs traveling upwards like an electric shock ending in a white blaze behind her eyes.

She screamed, her arms clutching the bundle closer to her chest. Her thought process had ceased long hours ago, her only mission was to deliver the bundle. And what she held must be safe. It had to be kept safe at all costs.

And so she pushed harder. The bundle moved. She held it tighter. She closed her eyes and pressed on.

***

“It’s going to be difficult.”

Her voice made my body ache it was so beautiful. It was like warm honey

dripping down my throat. Like the ocean breeze carressing my body. Like silk sliding over my ears and falling lightly about my face. I could listen to her forever. Forever I could listen to her talk. Anything, everything. She could tell me how to boil water and I’d sit enthralled. Enthralled with the crystaline majesty that dripped from her tongue like diamonds. A river of vocalized jewels.

Yeah, so that’s what I have so far.

We’ll see where it goes from here.

Or… more appropriately… where it will take me.

Log in to write a note

wow that is really good!

November 4, 2003

I love the way you write, you have such talent, I read all the stuff on your website way back when and that is when I added you to my fave’s list 🙂

November 4, 2003

You should write books and get rich. 🙂

wonderful

That is really wonderful. 🙂

November 4, 2003

It’s beautiful…I knew it would be!

November 4, 2003

*applause*

awesome. =)

November 5, 2003

Yay!!

November 5, 2003

Keep it up! ~

Your passion shows in your writing. *smiles* RYN: That latest story is one in a long string of vignettes I keep in my OD. There will be more. But there isn’t always order, or perfect sequence. Go back far enough and they’re not even calle Nutshell Park… But I’m planning on fixing that. Thanks for reading.

This is an excellent start!! I LOVE your writing–and want mooooooore!! But I still want to know what this Nanowrimo thing is…..am I a clueless beast from hell???

I’m doing nano too but no guts to post on OD!!!