The Big C

I pretty much want to tell the world ~and everyone in it~ what I think about them right about now.

Cancer fucking sucks. I won’t sugar coat it. My Mom has been battling brain cancer for about 3 months now. She went through 15 days of whole head radiation and the side effects have kicked her ass and then some. She was admitted into the hospital this last Monday because she was too weak and unresponsive to my Father, who quite honestly has been a martyr of sorts.

So anyway, she completed her first round of radiation a couple days before Xmas. The side effects of radiation have kicked in with full force and just have never gone away. I really don’t know how to feel about the whole thing. It’s a lot more to go into than this entry has to give, but my family has always been an enigma of sorts, so how the fuck do we deal with this?

How the fuck do we deal with this?

Uh, sorry for your virgin ears. But honestly, I am not doing well. I’m really sad, and I’m really scared. I can’t say much about it, I don’t want to take anything away from her, and I’d rather give her all my energy.

I can’t even go any further. Not in this entry anyhow. I have so much to say. SO MUCH TO SAY. I am so sad, and so….so….so….so…

I can’t formulate into thoughts. Not now, probably not tomorrow. Probably just this, and I guess it will have to do.

I guess it will have to do.

Log in to write a note

I saw you on the front page, and just wanted to reach out and say that I read this, and my heart goes out to you and your family.

January 18, 2011

as a cancer survivor ,i believe the most important thing is support…i am sure your mom appreciates yours alot

January 18, 2011

Brain cancer. Jesus…….. I feel for you my mom had cancer too. It is hard. I feel for you but I feel for your mom even more it is a war that she is going through and all you can do is be there for her and there is nothing else you can do. …

January 18, 2011

****, I’m sorry to hear that. Showing hope towards my mother is all I really have to give her. She’s been fighting cancer too and though it might seem like a daunting prospect to rely on hope and positivity, that love and care goes a long way if only to get their thoughts out of a proverbial gutter and raising their will. Fighting cancer is a fight in a lot of ways, win as much as you can.

Sorry about your mother, and how you’re feeling. I know it won’t ever magically just get better, but hopefully you’re feeling better about it soon. And hopefully the treatment helps for your mother.

Here’s a hug for you. I believe cancer is the ugliest form of disease. I’ve lost a few loved ones to the monster….. How do I change my settings to allow provate messages??? I’m still trying to figure out this damn website.

January 19, 2011

The treatments are so crude and barbaric. They basically poison and irradiate you hoping that the treatments kill the cancer before they kill you. I work in biomedical research and I know some people here are working on more finely tuned treatments where synthetic antibodies or other agents home in on the cancer cells only and leave other cells alone. Unfortunately, it’s still pretty far from clinical trials. >Are you joking? I’m not sure what that refers to, but, yes, sometimes it’s hard for me to tell whether I’m joking or not about some things. Davo

January 19, 2011

I’m so sorry. That’s a good way of putting it — I don’t want to take anything away from her.

Change maDE………… THX…

January 19, 2011

ryn: these scenarios are from Target, where I work, but I’d be stunned if they didn’t apply to Walmart as well.

Amazing what a lil guidance will do!!!!

ryn: I don’t even think I have an accent, but apparently it’s not very Australian. My customers always ask me where I’m from, and when I was in Sydney I could say I was from the country, but even while I’m living here, in rural-ish Australia, the locals still ask me what my accent is! Maybe I’ll post a video one day.

February 6, 2011

Strangely still here. I watched my grandmother go threw it, and I’m watching my uncle go threw the end stages of it. Its just so… ~

January 21, 2012

Pray your mom is still doing okay. If not then she is in a better place. Its been a year without an update from you thought i’d leave a note.

Where have you been? If you went to Faves only, I haven’t been recieving anything from you. Oh ya… My honesty. well lack of being politically correct, has landed me in hot water before. Just had a run in with a supervisor at work with it. I told him if he had issues with it to put it on paper. That was last week adn I’m still waiting to see if it goes anywhere.

February 29, 2012

In the future, the way we treat cancer today is going to seem unimaginably crude and medieval, poisoning and cutting and irradiating an already debilitated person in the hope that maybe this treatment will affect the cancer slightly more than it affects the patient, killing the former whilst sparing the latter. Well, it already seems that way, the real question is, when will we have something better to offer? I don’t know the answer, but I do know many very smart people working on the problem. I believe it will be done by an injection that triggers the body’s various immune responses to attack the cancer. It may require many such solutions, because cancers are all quite different. We’ll see… Davo