when house keeping steals.

Over the weekend I went to Grand Forks for a mini Easter vacation with my family. We had a pretty good time other than the fact that house keeping stole my purse.

Sunday morning I took the kids to the water slide park. We left at 10am, and came back to our room around 1:30pm. We showered got dressed and went grocery shopping with my Dad. At 4pm we walked over to the restaurant next to our hotel and had dinner. We got back to the room around 6pm, I put the kids in their swim suits and my Mom/Dad took the kids to the pool and I started to organize and clean up my room. Since we were heading home the next day.

I realize right away my purse is gone, I left it beside my suit case, next to all of the new things I had bought. I searched every bag, opened up every suit case. Tore the beds a part, checked under the bed (you can’t put anything under the bed at the quality inn) I walk over to the pool and ask my parents if they have it for some weird reason. My Dad checks his room, goes out side checks the truck nothing.

My Mom was like “where could it be? I told house keeping not to clean our rooms” …… “they cleaned my room Mom, my bed was made, my bathroom stuff was replenished”  etc etc.

I made a report with the girl working and she was incredible! she called the cops, she was very concerned, she was great. I made a statement and the girl told me that the manager would review the tapes and let me know what happened.

In the morning I talked with someone else, who was OK. At first she was rude, then she called her wonderful sister who told her everything and then she became apologetic and gave me 10$ for my purse.

The problem with that is, my purse was worth over 100$ i just had a ton of coupons and got it for 9$.

She said the manager would review the tapes later, mentioned IT and that it wouldn’t be done right away.

I called the hotel when I got home, and talked with some manager. She was incredibly rude, told me she didn’t know what I was called.She also said

“I find this hard to believe, since most of our house keeping staff is men”

“I back my staff”

“I’m not saying I don’t believe you, we just haven’t had this happen in over 7 years”

I responded politely, and told her I’ll never have house keeping clean my room again, that I want to know what happened, and I couldn’t believe how rude she was. She told me someone would contact me again.

No one has. Needless to say I will never stay at the Quality Inn, or any Choice Hotel again. I will never get house keeping again.

Log in to write a note
April 5, 2018

It is the feeling of violation, of being taken advantage of and the hassle of getting everything replaced that bothers me about theft.

And now you are getting no satisfaction from the “powers that be” and that makes it worse.

April 5, 2018

@d-_-b yes! I feel violated, I had a hard time sleeping. The trust, and safety I felt before was gone.

April 5, 2018

That is so messed up.