Reading Books

                                                I have come to the realization, that a viable options for much of my “conflicts” in life, is to get lost in the world of books. Hopefully reading books will take me to an entirely different world. I have finally reached that point. I feel that I may be much more happy in packing a book in my backpack, getting on the bus and visiting the local library, on a regular basis, to be able to read in a place with no distractions.

                           I have tried to fit in and to make friends with people where I live. It is not happening. It does not “work” for me. Therefore, I am going to discover the world of books. I just visited the Barnes & Noble site. I have already found a book that I would like to purchase. The title is “Psychology 101”. Something tells me that my main interests are going to be biographies and psychology books. I really am not into fiction, per se’. I might also buy some health-related books, to keep abreast of the latest changes in the healthcare system. 

                              I had originally thought about enrolling in another Stratford course. I was thinking about taking their Psychology/Sociology course, but then realised that taking a distance education course entails monthly tuition payments, taking periodic exams on the course content and ofcourse, the commitment of my time. I would be much better off buying books as I can afford them, and reading them at my leisure for personal interest.

                              All of this will begin after I finish my healthcare aide course, which is not far off. I was on the 4th floor of our building, and stopped in the 4th floor library to see what it had to offer. I found a cookbook to read. Awesome! Wish me luck everyone, as I embark on this new endeavor! 🙂

Log in to write a note
Jon
July 4, 2022

I could not live without books. I enjoy autobiographies the most. Not about pop culture, usually written by a ghost writer, but from little-known persons who have chosen to share their lives with others. The cost to take just one course at a college or university is ridiculous. Sticking to your books is probably the best choice.

July 4, 2022

@kotila Thank you very much for your note. Eleven months ago, I enrolled in my 5th course from a correspondence school, but it will be my last. It was actually pretty affordable, but as I mentioned in my entry, I would rather read at my leisure.

July 4, 2022

In my opinion reading is the best thing you can do for yourself. Also, going to the library will help by getting out of the building and away from those people. I welcome you to the wonderful world of books and reading. I will always love you.

July 4, 2022

@bear70 Thank you for your note, love. To Books! I raise my cup of grog!