Sunday Afternoon

                                                     My day is going fairly well. I cannot complain. I took an Ibuprofen before I had my morning coffee. I got up in the middle of the night. When I was up and made a turn, the right lumbar region of my back felt as if I had pulled a muscle or something. The pain was pretty bad. When I woke up for good at 5 am, I could still feel intermittent pain. While my coffee was brewing I took one 200 milligram Ibuprofen tablet. It helped immensely. I think I know what happened. My sister from Wheeling came up yesterday, for a visit. We shopped at Goodwill. I did not see anything that I wanted to buy. After that, we had lunch at Bob Evans Restaurant. I had the honey breaded chicken dinner, which came with mashed potatoes, gravy, buttered corn and biscuits w/ butter. I also ordered an iced tea. My sister ordered breakfast. She moved through her meal rather quickly, and said that she was going to ask for a container to take home these two extra large pancake that came with her meal. I had eaten most of my meal, but since she was finished, I decided to just ask for a container to take home the rest of my lunch. Next to our booth sat an elderly lady whom looked as if she could have been in her late 70s or early 80s. Her daughter was sitting across from her. She was treating her mother terribly. It was bothering me, as I believe that the elderly are the most vulnerable population, and that they should not have to suffer from physical, verbal or emotional abuse of any sort. As we were leaving, a man was sitting in the booth with them, and was treating the elderly lady just as terribly. It was absolutely heartbreaking. She looked so sad and dejected. After that, my sister and I went to Walmart. I picked up a 12 pack of 16 ounce bottles of Pure Leaf Sweet Tea. I had to reach down somewhat to pick it up off of the shelf. I think that was how I hurt my back. I now feel just fine. Ibuprofen is a “wonder medication” for physical discomfort. When she took me back to my building, we exchanged gift bags. We had a nice afternoon out. 

                          Twice, today I went outside. It would seem that the majority of the tenants are now sitting on the lower level of the outside part of the building. It is also called the gazebo area. I sat on one of the outside benches, which are adjacent to the building. Each time, I smoked about half of my cigar, then went back up to my apartment. The first time I returned, I cut out puzzles from the Sunday paper, to give to a tenant on 4th floor. I also saw a memorial photo in the newspaper, of a friend’s mother whom passed away last summer. I cut that out of the paper and put it in an envelope underneath their apartment door. Still another tenant enjoys the various single serving hotel room coffees and coffee accessories that my sister brings up in a zip lock bag. I gave the bag to him. After that, I talked with Bear, while looking online at Coleman Twin Airbeds at the same time. Next month, or even sooner if the need be, I am going to buy a back up airbed, just in case I would have to dispose of the new one that I recently inflated. I have not seen any more bedbugs. I asked my oldest daughter if she could buy me a couple of bedbug pillow protectors, for my brand new pillows. She said she would. I got something to eat, then started to watch the movie, “Coal Miner’s Daughter”. I got about as far as the part where Loretta Lynn and Doolittle Lynn go on the road to try to make it big in the world of country music. I turned it off, then went outside. It was more or less a repeat of the first time that I went outside.

Log in to write a note
July 17, 2022

Very good you entry. I’m glad you are having a good vday

July 17, 2022

thank you. I am trying.

 

July 17, 2022

Sounds like a restful and productive day.

July 18, 2022

@gypsystorm Thank you for your note, Eyes of Torment.