I want to be a part of it, New York New York

I want to wake up in the city that never sleeps
To find I’m king of the hill, top of the heap
These little town blues
Are melting away
I’ll make a brand new start of it
In old New York
If I can make it there
I’ll make it anywhere
It’s up to you, New York, New York.

I’m excited and pissed all at the same time.  But I guess I"ll start with the excitement part.  You know those people who have those lists of things that want to do in life before they die?  Well I have one.  Not written down…because I think I’d be disapointed if it was written down and I realized how much of it I hadn’t accomplished yet.  But I have a mental one.  One of the things on the list was to go to the US Open.  Well it looks like I can check that one off of my list!  I got tickets to the Men’s Quater finals for Thursday the 6th and I’m so excited.  The tickets are in the nosebleed section I"m sure but I don’t care.  I’m excited all the same.  I’m going with my best friend, her sister and I just found out her best friend might join us as well.  We’re flying in Wednesday and staying til Sunday.  We have all sorts of other plans of things we want to do and see.  I feel giddy like I did back in Junior year of high school when we went to NYC to sing at Carnegie Hall.  Besides the Tennis, we want to walk around Central Park, go to China Town, catch a Musical on Broadway, go to either The Met or MOMA…  And the more I think about it, the more excited I get.  I LOVE that city I really do.

I actually got really good plane ticket deal and the US Open tickets were reasonable.  I just never realized how expensive hotels were in NYC.  NOTHING under $150.  But we were looking on line yesterday and Ang decided to check priceline.  That’s one of those sites where you give them your credit card info up front and then you say what you’re looking for and for what price range and if they find something, it books it automatically and you can’t back out of it.  Well she didn’t know what she was doing and all of a sudden we’re booked in a Best Western in what looks to be a crummy part of Manhattan in a one bed room for $150 a night.  And reading the reviews for the hotel?  Yeah, everyone talks about how far it is from everything and how it’s not the greatest part of town and how the rooms are really small.  I was so PISSED.  She knew what that site was.  She’s used it before.  Why would she take the chance and do that?  I don’t know what we’ll do.  It’s already paid for for 4 nights and we can’t get our money back on that.  Just as she did that, I had found something a little better at about $180 a night….but it was too late.  Now I"m hoping they’ll have a 2 bed one that they’ll let us upgrade to for $40 a night.  I know we’ll probably only be in the room to sleep…but damnit!  I like my space and I hate the thought of us all crammed together in one room.  I guess I could get another room, but seriously on any other site the room is for like $200 a night and as much as I’m excited to go, I don’t know that I’m ready to pay $800 plus tax JUST for a hotel room.

But I’m trying not to be pissed about it.  I want to feel excited about going but every time I think about how stupid she was to just book it that way through priceline, it pisses me off!  Ok, not thinking about it any more….

Instead I’ll think about maybe getting to see Federere play!  Seeing some cool musical on Broadway.  Walking through Time Square.  There…I feel much better!

Log in to write a note
August 3, 2007

how fun!!! get some dreamy pictures of Federer for me! 😛 that’s so exciting! but hotels are expensive, aren’t they? that’s what always keeps me from taking a trip down to the city. it’s close enough to drive there, but too far to just take a day trip. RYN: i’m a huge IMAX fan. i loved seeing Goblet of Fire at the IMAX and OotP felt the same way… until the 3D part at the end. i hate the 3Dparts. they’re too busy and blurry to make out what’s going on. if i could see it again at the IMAX, but without the 3D, that would be the perfect Harry Potter experience for me! ~

August 7, 2007

ohhhh…i want to stay up and catch up on your entries, but i’ll have to come back later….i’m exhausted…i just thought i’d leave you a note saying that i’m still reading you!! 🙂 —