I finished it last night and now I’m sad. :-(

us cover

Sunday when I finally got home, I realized that the book was NOT at my doorstep.  I was PISSED!  So angry that I took it out on my mom and said some mean things to her.  🙁  I suck.  I called UPS and they at first said that since it doesn’t require signatures, they leave it at the doorstep and if I don’t have it, I need to contact the shipper.  I was so pissed and knowing that Amazon had guranteed release date delivery, I figured I would get my money back so I was ready to head out to Walmart to get the book.  Then the UPS guy tells me that though Amazon shipped it through UPS, UPS sent it to me through USPS!!  WHAT?  So I ran to my mail box and found that the book was indeed in there.  I was too exhausted Sunday night to read too long, but I did stay up until 1 AM reading.  Then I had Monday off and I read off and on all day but wasn’t in a hurry to finish it because I didn’t want it to end!  Tuesday, my flight was delayed at the ATL airport for 3 hours, so I read there and then read the whole 2 hour flight.  The guy next to me must have thought I was CRAZY because I has in tears the whole time.  I had the last two or three chapters left as the plane landed and it was the first thing I picked up as soon as I got to my hotel.  It only took a little while to finish it and when I was done, I didn’t know what to think.  It’s like losing a best friend.  It’s OVER!  How can it be over?  What book do I have to look forward to now??

Spoilers coming up so if you haven’t finished reading it don’t go any further…..

 

 

 

 

 

My thoughts on the book is still scattered.  I need to read it again.  And I need it to all absorb.

Things I liked:

  • Everything pretty much happened as I expected.  I was right on when it came to certain things. 
  • Harry DIDN’T die!  YAY!
  • Hermione and Ron were finally together
  • I got my one big happy Weasley family at the end
  • Neville kicked some major ASS!  I loved him killing Nagini.
  • The Deathly Hallows
  • Harry accepting the fact that he is a horcrux and facing his fate
  • Voldy dying
  • Bellatrix dying
  • Luna and her pictures!
  • The afterlife at King’s Cross with Dumbledoor.  King’s Cross is a train station, right?  So it totally reminded me of The Matrix…the third one I think….where Neo is kinda dead and at a train station. 
  • Molly killing Belatrix

Things I didn’t like:

  • Fred DIED!!  WHAT THE FUCK!!  She killed a Weasley for no reason and then never followed up to let us know how George was doing.
  • Lupin AND Tonks died AFTER having a kid.  What was the point?
  • Snape loved Lily and that’s the only reason he helped Dumbledore.  He still hated Harry because he was James’s son.  He was still a dick.  But he died in the end and was kinda redeemed I guess.  Still doesn’t make him any less of an ass in my book.  I did feel sorry for him during the flashback scenes though.  And James sounded like an ass as well so why in the world did Lily marry him?  I called the Snape loved Lily tbhing a long time ago. 
  • No Quidditch or Hogwarts.  So the trio pretty much dropped out of school and in my book that’s not cool.  They didn’t take their NEWTS?  They didn’t pass so what happens?  There is no wizarding university so their education is over?  Yeah…not liking that.  I guess I’ve had education ingrained in my mind since I was a kid and have a hard time understanding how you become better at magic if you don’t keep learning.
  • Dumbledore having too many flaws.  No man is perfect, but in stories like this, having a mentor like that needs to be near perfect.  Can you imagine if Obi-Wan or Yoda had been so flawed?  Or Gandalf?  I liked that he was made human, but I didn’t like the way they did it and the way they made it seem like he was just using Harry.
  • Everything pretty much happened as I expected and there were no surprises.
  • Neville not getting to kill Bella
  • Lupin not getting to kill Greyback
  • Petunia wanted to go to Hogwarts?  That’s why she hated Harry?  That’s it?  Too many people hated him for all the wrong reasons including Petunia and Snape.

I know I’m missing stuff.  I loved the book though.  It was a pretty good ending to it all.  I loved the Epilogue even if it was super cheesy.  But I wanted to know more.  What happened to Luna in 19 years?  What happened to George?  How were the Weasleys?  Who was headmaster at Hogwarts?  Who did Draco marry and what…all of a sudden everything with them is cool?  Still…overall, a good read and I’m truly sad that it’s over.  I’ve looked forward to a new book all along and now it’s over.  All the questions have been answered.  I don’t know what book I’ll look forward to now.  I hope there is some author out there who will keep me this enchanted and keep me this interested for so many years.  I guess at least I have two more movies to look forward to.

Log in to write a note
July 25, 2007

I was just assuming that McGonagall would let the trio come back the next year to finish their lost seventh year. Or, why not just give Harry and honorary degree? He earned it, right?

July 26, 2007

Rowling said that each book would document every year Harry spent at Hogwarts. Since he technically hasn’t had a seventh year, there should be an eighth book to document his graduation cause that last thing we want Harry Potter to promote is that dropping out of high school for the right reasons is okay. Not a message we want to send to the kids! Later,

July 26, 2007

ok, i’m not reading the spoilers because i’m reading it now. i couldn’t afford to buy it, really (space AND money), so i had one of my students download it for me and i’m reading it. but slowly . . . usually i take a fair amount of time. but so busy . . . preparing lectures, being exhausted. i won’t finish it until late next week! 🙂 xoxo

July 26, 2007

I had mixed feelings for Dobby’s death. How he went was truly honorable; he died saving the one who saved him, but why did he have to die? I loved the fact that they hand dug the grave for him. I think that Dobby’s death was the saddest part of the book.

July 27, 2007

I’m ignoring everything in this entry except your first paragraph….did you apologize to your mom??? RYN: he’s 36….and yes he has a girlfriend. I can’t really judge though….because i knew going into it and i was still seeing Monty at the time. i’m the best at digging holes for myself. deep ones too. —

August 2, 2007

i just read this because i just finished the book on Sunday (mine was hidden in the mailbox, too!!) what an amazing book! i’m still in shock that it’s all over, though. Harry Potter gets me passionate about reading, and i’ve already picked up another book to read. once that passion dies down, what’s going to invigorate it again? things won’t be the same… as for the book, i really, really loved it. it was definitely dark and intense! Neville decapitating the snake was sweet! being a big Hermione fan, i like that she took charge for most of the book. the Deathly Hallows were an interesting tale, too, and i like how the invisibility cloak tied in to the whole thing. for some reason i never really liked Dumbledore, so i was glad he ended up just being a wise-old man instead of some infallible super-genius. and he did come across as selfish a lot… also, i’m a big Snape fan, and disappointed he didn’t get more page-time in the book. i am pleased with his little backstory, though. ~

August 4, 2007

seemed neville fulfilled part of the prophecy. mcgonagall probably became headmaster, although i was betting on harry for it! draco, pansy parkinson? yeah, i agree with fred! what the hell!!!! i’m sure george became rich, though, remember the business? they got OWLs, though, that qualifies people for some things. plus, come on, they beat voldemort. DUH! 🙂