Dusts off hands satisfactorily

That’s one more down, two to go.  Grad school applications, that is.  I’ve just submitted my application to Penn State.  I also apparently don’t need to pay an application fee unless I’m accepted to the department.  It seems like a lot of chemistry departments feel like waiving the application fee in some form or another.  Maybe it’s just the cash-starved ones?  (Or student-starved, to be more accurate)  If I get into MIT, it saves me from having to pay Penn State’s $65.  Woot woot.  Applications for graduate schools are expensive.

Patrick came over last night to try and figure out what’s up with the memory card on my camera.  Neither of us could figure it out, but I can read the memory card on my computer using his card reader, but not the camera.  He let me keep the card-reader.  It’s a good long-term solution, but it doesn’t satisfy me as a scientist.

At least I can put up some crafty pictures, now!

I made both!  And yes, that is my pasty white neck you are viewing.  When your ancestors were as stuck up about breeding as mine were, you don’t have any color other than bright white.

I also have a picture of Dyrim where the quality is less than stellar.  When you get a cat back who is so happy to be home after a traumatic surgery but all of a sudden he doesn’t hurt anymore, he’s pretty bouncy.  Between wishing for a still image and picking one that’s not grotesque, the quality choices went pretty far down.  Anyway.  I’ve probably explained myself more than you’d actually care about reading.  Here’s the picture!

My one-eyed pirate.  Arrrr  🙂

Oh, speaking of!  What’s a pirate’s favorite noble gas?!  Arrrrrgon!

Nerds shouldn’t take themselves too seriously; there are just too many puns floating around to ignore!

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2012

I desperately want to learn to knit. And your pirate kitty is kayoooot <3

January 6, 2012

Noble Gas walks into a bar, the barman says “hey we don’t serve noble gases in here” the gas doesn’t react. RYN: yeah i’ll see if i can get it on Audiobook somewhere. i’m going through a phase where i don’t feel like reading books so i just listen to them instead. thanks for the heads up, never heard of it before.

January 6, 2012

Your crocheted little character looks like a baby Dr zoidberg! As in the futurama character. Also – pretty necklace!

January 6, 2012

RYN: This article pretty much explains what happened to us – I had to return to Australia to apply for residency. Things then went to **** for my husband in America, so he ended up coming here so that we could at least be together. http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/07/us/path-to-green-card-for-illegal-immigrant-family-members-of-americans.html?_r=1&src=tp

January 6, 2012

Thank you for the note! I never though of it as being a dark tunnel with a rainbow at the end. That made me smile. Thank You! 🙂

January 6, 2012

RYN: Yah no kidding right? I’m still so mad at him..I guess they talked it over and he says he likes it to a point BUT….he also said that he’s not going to take her anywhere till it grows out…he’s such a douche!

January 7, 2012

RYN: people were crossing themselves; I’ve never seen that either! I’ve been flying for more than five years and never once saw this nor have I been nervous on a flying metal toothpaste tube like I was that night… yes, very glad it’s over!

January 7, 2012

RYN: Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’ll get over it…I understand it’s hard for him to assimilate, since his instinct is to cling to his Bangladeshi values when they feel threatened in a foreign place, but I think my beliefs and values are kind of “hardcore” even in American culture. I’ve dated American guys who had the same entitlement problem – “I’m such a nice guy; you should be grateful to me since most guys aren’t nice.” Blegh. Is your cat a Russian Blue?! My dad has a Russian Blue, and she looks just like yours (except she has 2 eyes.) Softest fur everrr.

January 26, 2012

The crocheted Cthulu is AWESOME. Is it possible the camera doesn’t support USB as a mass storage device? My Motorola Droid 3 is like that and now I can no longer transfer data between my computer (Kubuntu) and my phone.