Friendship & Abuse

I have a friend that was married 8 years to an abusive man. They finally divorced, but still remain friends. 

He did awful things and said horrible stuff and yet she forgives him and he’s around her home constantly. I visit her from time to time. He makes me really uncomfortable. He indirectly insults her. Gets super angry. They argue a lot.

 I tend not to say anything and leave the room. I don’t like being alone with him or having him drive me home.

My friend asked if I could come over this weekend to help her with throwing away clutter. I said sure, but this time I requested if her ex not be there.

She replied that she really needed his help and that it was okay for me not to come. I tried explain to her how he made me uncomfortable, but she took it as I hated him. 

I told myself when I moved out that I wouldn’t be around abusive people if I could avoid it or spend the least amount of time with them as possible. I endured dad’s constant abuse and I finally moved out 3 years ago to be with my boyfriend.

 I feel guilty for asking her not to have her except around, but I don’t want to be walking around eggshells like I used to at home. 

I don’t hate him or my dad. I don’t want to be around them too long though. I feel I should just  tolerate them like everyone does. Maybe I’m too sensitive (mom said this about me)? Maybe…idk….

 I think my friendship with her ended today. I’m heartbroken 😞. Maybe I should rethink my stance on abusive people. At this rate I might keep losing friends 😢😢

Log in to write a note
December 13, 2018

Thanks Snarkle. I can replace them with healthier relationships, but losing her just hurts right now.

December 13, 2018

I’m sorry about the loss of your friend… I know it hurts, but there is no reason why you should feel not wanting to be around abusive people.

They’re known for being highly psychologically toxic. You’ll find true friends, who will admire you for admitting that you don’t like to be around someone whose abusive.

December 14, 2018

Thanks @thebusinessanalyist. Therapist told me survivors of abuse and even therapists avoid abusive people. I’m feeling less anxious since she hasn’t texted me.