Insomnia strikes again

Oh joyful joyful hallelujah, my insomnia returns. Another late night awake as it approaches 3am. Part of it is my fault for not taking my evening medications until midnight. I only take three RX medications and one herbal at night. The other is my anxiety and PTSD tend to keep me up.

 

So does what I take two of the medications for, Metoprolol (a beta blocker usually used to treat high blood pressure and sometimes used for anxiety) a medication called Corlanor (a medication used to treat heart failure as it acts on the Sinus node of the heart to slow the workload). Both medications lower heart rate. I take them for that  I have a condition called POTS (Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome).  Before taking those my resting heart rate was often in the 110-120 (sinus tachycardia) range  jumping to 155-170 just by standing, now my resting heart rate averages about 70 (Thank you Apple Watch). Oh there are other symptoms of the disorder including brain fog, migraines, anxiety, depression: I encourage you to follow the link.

 

Speaking of Apple Watch, we purchased an Apple Watch for me and since putting it on I have gone from 265lbs down to 238 in just 45 days, the motivation to close my rings is so great that when Inget up every hour and walk around my husband looks at me like I’m insane, maybe I am 🤔.  He got himself an iPad Pro and an Apple Pencil, I will often borrow his iPad to use this incredible app (only available on App Store for Apple) called Color Theraoy. Here is an example of one of the pieces I did  (OK, I don’t know how to add pictures). But you can color pages like an adult coloring book or freehand your work or do a little of both, And there is a community there that is just awesome.  Like OD was in the beginning when I first started here in December 2003.

 

I am going to see if this works I’ll put the coloring page next to the image I

 

This is how I spend a bit of my time  I used to draw all the time until I started to hate my own artwork and thought all I did was terrible.

 

The only other medication I take prescription wise is Klonopin.  I also take an herbal sleep remedy and often use lavender essential oil to try and relax my mind. I also cannot sleep without my sleep mask.

It is supposed to storm sometime tonight, not so bad as for those hit by those wretched tornadoes elsewhere tonight  weather wise we have gotten lucky, Matthew didn’t damage my home at all and well honestly this state is overdue for a hurricane  I live near the coast so that is the last thing I hope for come hurricane season.

i think I might actually being getting drowsy, thank you for hearing me. 🙃

 

 

 

Log in to write a note