Feb. 1, 2014 – Step by Step

 Step by Step

Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014 

Today, I begin to tear down the wall that BITTERNESS has built between me and the promises of the Program and recovery – serenity with the world and myself, inclusion instead of exclusion from others in recovery who have found what I have not, a positive instead of a negative influence of everyone around me. Unlike anger, which in some cases is justified, bitterness has NO justification; like alcohol, the power of bitterness is in its destruction not only of everything and everyone around me but of myself as well. And, like alcohol, bitterness is the epitome of selfishness, of rejection of all that is good and constructive – and a validated ticket to loneliness and isolation. With as much work as I expended on drinking, it takes as much if not more work emotionally and physically to keep bitterness going. Today, I’m too tired and disgusted with bitterness to give it the time and effort needed to empower it. And our common journey continues. Step by step. – Chris M., 2014

Log in to write a note