Feb. 2, 2014 – Step by Step

 Step by Step

Sunday, Feb. 2, 2014 

Today, I understand – perhaps for the first time – that dependency is not confined to alcohol and the dynamics of addiction to it, and that dependency CAN impact my relationships with other people. For years, I depended on alcohol to drown feelings I did not want, to "create" feelings I wanted and to shape my attitude and perspective. Is it not logical, then, that I depended on alcohol to define – in part – my relationships with other people? Honesty says yes! And my expectations in those relationships were either to dominate THEM, or to be so emotionally needy and dependent on them that MY unrealistic expectations of them drove them away. Now, in sobriety, I have to admit that quitting drinking is not enough, that I must also be sober in my relationships and find the compromise between being the dominant one – and the needy one. Today, I begin the search for the way to being a contributor to healthy relationships. And our common journey continues. Step by step. – Chris M., 2014

Log in to write a note
February 2, 2014

stay strong and always true to yourself. 🙂