Feb. 5, 2014 – A Day at a Time

 A Day at a Time

Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2014

Reflection for the Day

If I am troubled, worried, exasperated or frustrated, do I tend to rationalize the situation and lay the blame on someone else? When I am in such a state, is my conversation, "He did …," "She said …," "They did …?" Or can I honestly admit that perhaps I’m at fault? My peace of mind depends on overcoming my negative attitudes and tendency toward rationalization.

Will I try, day by day, to be rigorously honest with myself?

Today I Pray

May I catch myself as I talk in the third person, "He did …" or "They promised …" or "She said she would …" and listen for the blaming that has become such a pattern for me and preserves delusion. May I do a turnabout and face myself instead.

Today I Will Remember

Honesty is the only policy.

Hazelden Foundation

Log in to write a note