The Craft of Writing

I’ve written about the book I have started writing and I’ve struggled with it. How to make things connect, make it compelling and interesting… just like all writers do with their books.  Now one would think that I have a degree in English or writing or some other related field.  Um. No.  I’ve taken college writing courses and was encouraged by my writing teacher to keep writing. That ends my education in writing.

I have a BS in Business Administration with a concentration in MIS (management information systems) and have an associates degree in applied sciences that allowed me to get my RN.

If I’m going back to college, I’m going to get my BSN (bachelor in nursing) and not a writing degree. I pondered what I could do to get better at writing. Masterclass has some author related material. It looks interesting. Has anyone used it? I’ve also come across some video bloggers that have helped me fill in some gaps. Any other suggestions from my fellow readers?

I came up with some new names for the main characters in the book. I had names in the first draft but with the exception of Father Jacob, they never really felt right. I have to live with these names now for a bit and see if they settle in and are becoming of the characters. How exactly do you pick a perfect name for the Messiah? There is so much material on properly naming a character that my head is spinning. Who would have thunk?

Log in to write a note
April 5, 2018

Hi! I think the best way to become a better writer is by doing writing workshops. Reading and critiquing other people’s work as well as writing and having your own work critiqued is the best way to get better, especially since I believe writing requires constant outside critique and revision to improve and be the best writing it can be 🙂

April 5, 2018

I have a BA in English, and next week I am starting my MBA.  What kind of book and genre are you writing about before I give advice?

April 6, 2018

@mentaldysplasia Speculative fiction about a female messiah.

April 8, 2018

@crossman

I think one of the main things that are very important in writing a story is character development.  The novel that I am writing I get very much inside each of my character’s minds.   At the moment, I conversation building because I think it is a very important key to writing a novel.  I think the most important thing is to let the character guide you to who they are and not who you want them to be.

April 8, 2018

@mentaldysplasia Thank you for your thoughts on character development!

April 12, 2018

@crossman

Is there anything else you may need to know about the writing industry?

April 27, 2018

@mentaldysplasia Considering I’m brand new to this entire field, I would say I need to know “everything.” LOL

May 12, 2018

@crossman

Have you done any research on literary agents or query letters?

May 14, 2018

@mentaldysplasia I have not as of yet. I don’t have a finished manuscript to even send them.

June 1, 2018

@crossman

I’d glance at it.  Are you stuck anywhere?

June 1, 2018

@mentaldysplasia Thanks but I’m not ready to share it quite yet.