It Could’ve Been Worse

I’m having trouble connecting to Prosebox so you get my entry first.

I had a really good weekend despite a couple of blah things that happened.

Friday, I watched Get Out while drinking Rum and Coke. That movie. Wow! I think it’s the most terrifying thing I’ve ever seen. I sat there with my mouth agape through over half of the movie. I’m usually pretty good about predicting what will happen or figuring out what’s going on in a movie but this one…wow!

I posted a picture of my super red cheeks from all the Rum and Coke I had. I stayed up until 2:30AM and was just enjoying my time alone while the kids slept peacefully in my bed. It was so nice to just have time to myself and do something I enjoyed doing.

Saturday, I got up around 8AM, finished reading my book, then got a shower. I woke the kids up and we went to go get an oil change in my car. First, I went to Walmart to have it done since I had some things I needed to pick up but it was going to be a THREE HOUR wait. Um, no! So I left and went to one of those express places where you just sit in your car while they change the oil. We were there for about an hour and that’s only because they were packed. It was alright though. The kids and I sat in the car singing and enjoying each other.

We went to Steak and Shake afterwards. The kids were so happy with it. They ate nearly all of their food so I got milkshakes. Landen got his own and I split one with Olivia. I hardly had any of it because it just seemed super sweet and Landen ended up finishing it off since Olivia was over it pretty quickly. We went back to Walmart to do the shopping that needed to be done. The kids were so, so good which was shocking because Olivia is usually hell in stores. I got them treats on our way out for being so well behaved; Cheetos for Olivia and Cool Ranch Doritos for Landen.

We started our twenty minute drive home with high hopes of getting some housework done. (I bought a vacuum.) I was less than five miles from the house when I heard this sound; whomp whomp whomp whomp. I knew what it was before I even saw it. I pulled over into the shooting range right down the road from my house and sure enough, flat tire. It was rainy and the parking lot is dirt and gravel. I called my dad and he came to fix it for me. It was a real pain in the ass but I could be here all day typing if I tell you all the trouble this tire gave us. He eventually got the spare on and we were on our way. Once again, I was really very impressed by the kids’ behavior.

We finally made it home and spent the rest of the evening just hanging out together. Olivia was all kinds over hyper and ran all over the house sliding her hands across the wall. I didn’t mind so much since she’d be wonderful in public so I just let her have it. Apparently, my bookcase, that J had put together about a year ago, wasn’t put together as well as it should have been because she nudged it and it collapsed. I was just so grateful that she was running around so crazy like that it didn’t fall on her since she moved quickly. She did, however, dive into the floor and cover her face as if an explosion had just happened. So, I’m down a bookcase and there are so many homeless books that had to be put into boxes.

J decided he wanted to have them overnight so he picked them up at 9:30PM. My brother was there visiting with me which helped with J not sticking around too long. Once him and the kids had left, my brother and I got out the Rum and drank until about 3AM. We watched a really stupid show on Netflix called Big Mouth and just laughed for hours. It was so nice getting to hang out with my baby brother.

I went to bed and was dead to the world until 8AM. I told myself I was going to go back to sleep but it didn’t take long before my parents started texting me, asking if I was going to church. I was able to force myself out of bed and made it to Sunday School but not services. After church, I dropped my car and tire off at Firestone then went out to eat with my parents. $130 later, I have a new tire because mine was beyond repair. I won’t complain since I was able to get pulled over and to safety before something happened driving on it. The money isn’t a big deal since my children and I are safe.

I got the kids back around 6:30PM last night. J brought them to my mom’s where I was helping her clean house. They played for a little while then we went home to get them baths. Landen read a little of his book then went to bed while Olivia raised hell for hours and hours like she was on some kind of sugar high. I will admit, I was getting frustrated with her because I was so tired after two nights of being up late but she eventually went to sleep.

I woke up this morning and I just feel blah and drained and unmotivated. I feel kind of down in the dumps but am trying to hang onto the good mood I had all weekend. Usually Monday is my favorite day but this one just isn’t leaving up to how I normally feel. Surely that means, Tuesday will be my day and I’ll get lots of work done.

It would probably improve my mood if Olivia would stop taking the mushroom off my plate, putting them in her mouth, then putting them right back on the plate.

Log in to write a note
February 12, 2018

“, I got up around 8AM, finished reading my book, then got a shower. I woke the kids up “. Wow! My kids never slept past 7. You are living the dream, my friend.

February 12, 2018

@margaret_1 Oh yes, my kids are great at sleeping in. My oldest has trouble getting to sleep at night (insomnia for an 8 year old) and has to get up early for school during the week so he usually sleeps in on Saturdays.

February 13, 2018

Lucky your Dad was able to help with the tire.

And good that your brother was at your house when J went over……that is another tactic, whenever j plans on going over to pick up or return kids, if a family member is available, you should have them over to deter him from staying/getting in to conversation you don’t want.

February 13, 2018

@impetuous_1 That’s exactly what I’ve been doing recently. Anything to avoid time alone with him.