Or I should say, it’s USUALLY easy…

Am I the only one that sometimes misses the simplicity of emoticons that were just text?

See, I think emoji are brilliant for me to try and communicate to you what my internal state is, but for me to try to communicate to you my intent or perceptions through emojis is for advanced usage only, when the communication has already been established and then humans rarely follow protocols. It is annoying to parse for what I approximate as many of us but can avow is really important to at least one of us.
Any opposing viewpoints? I agree that emoji, as pictures, are an awesome way to store and transmit messages when people understand the code. More meaning, less keying of the mike.  Also, everybody knows the lingo, so it is reinforcing of the standards of the culture that controls the lingo.  We feel apart of something because we know a lot of acronyms, yeah?  I think my brother Dr. Sean would here tell me that this is why standards are important, and which is why a plan followed with discipline and extreme motivation is better than no plan at all. And except at the boundaries, I would agree with him.

But…

See. Life happens at the boundaries. Novelty happens at the boundaries. What is interesting is where what you think is true becomes NOT true, and why. Do you understand what I mean? Transitions are where the danger happens.

Safety Brief from SSG Mac: Most fuck-ups happen during redeployment, because we let our guard down and think the fight is over. The fight is over when you are in a home you chose sleeping with who you chose to love and no one in the world cares who it is, only that you are living an authentic and fulfilled life.

It is interesting because it is important because we thought it would help, and to much extent it has. We think it would help others. We can’t pay attention all the time to everything, nothing can, but we know we need to pay attention.
So, what I mean to say, is that it seems we are all talking in emojis, because everybody thinks the noises coming out of their mouths mean the same thing to others that hear the noises, and let me tell you Brothers and Sisters, this is true IF YOU STAY IN YOUS BUBBLE.
If you go out of your bubble, people will not understand your emoji. In German, the newscasters all use a higher form of German, not higher as in more important, but higher on the mountain, as in less space, I always thought it, as it had LESS symbols, I believe. Much like I do not use my flowery words when I try to talk to the dogs so they remember. They have limited RAM for their vocabulary, and I don’t need to fill it with conjugations, yeah?

So next time you feel like shouting because you are not being heard, ask yourself if the barrier to communication is other than physical. Raising your voice is only one tool in the toolbox, but if all one has is a hammer, well…

 


Fractal:

1st: As above
2nd: Musical:  157 Riverside Avenue
3rd: Visual: eggplant emoji on grandma phone, grandma face look weird
4th: Humor: then you see the eggplant came from grandpa
5th: Interspecies: Dogs
6th: Allusions: Left to the observer

Log in to write a note
February 7, 2022

I think you are brilliant

: )

February 8, 2022

@novilight we do, too.  🙂  Tis a weakness, and a fact, and a reward.  All at once.

But thank you!  We appreciate praise like all others but feel it might be overpriced usually.  This is not that day.

February 7, 2022

“raise your words, not your voice.. it’s rain that grows flowers, not thunder”

February 8, 2022

@novilight ah; to speak only in measured tones.  This is a worthy goal I will live lifetimes learning.

But I think I was here this time to learn to sing at the top of my voice, and dance.  I have learned these things and more, and it just makes us greedy for more experiences, but the efficient way is to read and communicate not travel and experience directly.  Because this also is good practice, as so few people reflect on their experiences.  We find asking about them kills two birds with one stone, much better used here than in breaking glass houses, yes?

February 8, 2022

@cygnusx-1

I don’t believe we are greedy for wanting to experience. There is a time for work and a time for rest, so the work can do its work.

wanna dance?

February 9, 2022

@novilight Absolutely but only IF you let me assert I do believe there is a season for all things, and am sorry if any implication that balance in time and space is both needed, but with the green still going to the house; this is tough, to be balanced and still trend toward good.  Gotta be tight, like the rubberband man.  But dig that jam.

February 9, 2022

@novilight but to your greater point, agreed.  Problem is I have this thing started and I want it to survive, but it will need to learn to grow, and I need to gather more to feed it, but when do you know the flame can last on its own?  When can it not be lost back to the void?  Well, can it ever?  Some stories say yes, but we still in q-space, the noise not the ones or zeros.

What to dance?  I need to learn tap, but I do everything but from the heart, no choreography.  I want to learn the tap like grace and gene now, because I never used to be able to dance or sing but I persisted and look what happens when I use it right?  glorious.  I got more years left than I expected so I got time to play with the settings.  graphics are great, and the breath is the API.  either by design or neglect, functional difference is null