Memories.

So I’ve got nothing to say about my day (in this case early am) as other than the doctor telling me some good news. I decided to forgo it and tell a story. I admit I like telling stories to people and on more than a few occasions I’ve been told it’s something I’m really good at. I just like doing it. As to if its good that’s not my call. Besides, who doesn’t enjoy a good story.

I suppose ill talk about one of my favorite things when I was little: The Sand Pit. It was like a small cliff with sharp sliding drop. It was sand/clay but it was the main play space for us kids on my mom’s side of the family. Being the oldest it was fun for me to torment the younger ones. I wasn’t super mean but if I didn’t want the others at the top, they go down in a cloud of sand/clay and it was fun. This was back in the early 90s when you could be mean like that and others wouldn’t get butt hurt.

It was so much a hangout that they got a mini swing set from put there. I was a heavy kid so going on that wasn’t really an option for me. But I had my hill and I enjoyed all the time I spent there. It has those great, happy and fun memories for me. And it will remain that way. Sad that its gotten overgrown now, but during the summer there are bonfires there. It still gets used but even if I were ok, I couldn’t climb it now. Haha.

Log in to write a note
February 21, 2024

Stories are good! It’s always fun to look back, as long as you don’t unpack. Thems the rules. 🙂

DH
February 21, 2024

@ostara Oh, I’ve got a ton of em. 😁

February 24, 2024

A cool memory. Simple pleasures.

DH
February 25, 2024

@joyfulhope Right? Best kind.