Weekly Theme Most Expensive Thing Ever Bought

I am sure most people will say the same thing as I am about to. I have to say the most expensive thing my husband and I have ever bought (so far) has to be our house.

And for most people it was not that expensive! In 2000 we paid $59K for it. It is an older house built in 1957 and we are the second owners. A little over 1000sq ft, but we have a HUGE lot. The house needs a ton of updating. LetÂ’s put it this way – the water heater is original to the house and sits in the kitchen. Have you ever heard of a Martha Washington water heater? The bathroom is 1950s pink! LOL

We are in a pretty good neighborhood and have a wonderful neighbor next to us who helps us with whatever we need.

Housing values in this area have really started to climb in the last year or so. One street over from us they have a pending offer of 113K! So in about 3 or 4 years when we are ready to move to a bigger house (we actually out grew this house before I became pregnant – but financially we are here for a few more years) we should make a pretty good profit.

Second part of the Question – Did we need it. YES! I could not take living in an apartment for one more year. We were robbed twice while there. Not in our house but our vehicle was broken into twice. And the management kept raising the rent (which was more than our house payment is now) and would not do anything about the crime.

Heaven forbid I EVER have to move back to an apartment.

First entry for today

Log in to write a note
May 9, 2004

Cute house! I’m still waiting for the tour! đŸ˜‰ I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day! đŸ™‚

May 9, 2004

YOu got a steal on that house. We bought our first house 999 sq feet for $54K back in 1989 and sold it in 1997 for $87K. The cost of housing around has gone up so much. First time home owners in this area can expect to pay about $100K for that same size house you are living in. Just out ragous. But a house is a great investment!

Oooh I like your big tree!

Looks like a lovey house !!!

May 9, 2004

It’s a pretty house! I’m a sucker for brick.

May 9, 2004

Nice house. Now I want to see the pink bathroom and the water heater. Hehe. Kisses

May 9, 2004

Looks like a GREAT Yard for a swingset one day… fixer uppers are the best.. take care

May 9, 2004

Very cute house, and what I deal you guys got on it!

May 9, 2004

what a deal, that is.

May 9, 2004

it might be easier to expand what you have now instead of moving, especially if the neighborhood is a keeper. Take care

May 9, 2004

It may be outdated and need some work, but at least it is all yours. I lived in apartments from the time I was born until about 10 years ago, and I will never move back into an aprtment again. We lived in one so bad, that I watched a man run his wife over for cheating on him when I was 11. Nice memory right? K, I’m done rambling for now. đŸ™‚ Meme

Ugh! I used to hate living in an apartment…and it is much cheaper to buy a house than having to pay rent. I think your house is darling. đŸ™‚

May 9, 2004
May 10, 2004

Wow, 59k is sooooo cheap compared to what houses go for here nowadays. That’s awesome.