Picking Up Again

Dear Diary,

It’s been a long time since I last posted to you.  But what an interesting year this one is shaping up to be so far.

In January, I finally got out of my depressive rut when I took on my ex housemate Adrian for stalking, bullying and defaming me both online and in real life over me supposedly being gay and spreading false rumours that I had exploited Lily Grace.  I’m a pretty peaceful guy at heart, but when someone pushes me too far, they’d better watch out!

A few weeks ago, d-Wizz 2.0 did its first gig in three years at the Cave Inn in Woolloongabba.  We only got 5 people turning up, because everyone else wanted to see The Scientists, Bad Religion, Peaches or Ed Sheeran.  You can’t compete with the likes of them.

But it was still a good gig and the promoter Dylan liked us and our music, which was great.  So we’re hoping we’ll get booked for future gigs.

Even more interesting, I’m starting to gravitate towards a genre of music that I had pretty much shunned or taken in small doses for much of my life: C&W.  I saw Tori Darke, Jade Holland and Tyla Rodrigues at Lefty’s Music Hall with my mate Jacob Mailes, and it was great.  The venue has a nice intimate atmosphere, and people talk to each other like they’re family.

I’m playing at a few open mic performances around Brisbane over the next couple of months like at Pacific Sun Friends, Platform 5 and The Cave Inn.  Giving yourself a long extended break from music means you can still stand to miss fresh talent and gigs.  Here’s the rundown:

9 March 2023 – Platform 5

12 March 2023 – The Cave Inn

18 March 2023 – Pacific Sun Friends

It’d be good for me to meet some of my audience and followers in person.

 

 

Log in to write a note