How can I wake you…

I hear you speaking in your sleep,
Clearly dreaming,
Of better days,
As a smile begins to creep,
Of fleeting memories,
Of where you once knew,
The view is sweet.
How can I wake you? (How can I wake you?)

When you smile in your dreams,
I deal with harsh reality,
The world and all it’s schemes,
As your head rests light and free,
The harsh light it gleams,
So you can sleep…
How can I wake you? (How can I wake you?)

How can I wake you?
When you feel at peace,
And I see the world crumble at it’s core,
How can I wake you? (How can I wake you?)
When this night may never cease,
And your world is a roar,
How can I wake you? (How can I wake you?)

The night is dark,
Like the colors your eyes see,
Behind closed lids,
The universe is blackening,
Like the ending of it all,
Around me,
But I let you sleep.

“Do not disturb” upon your door,
Give the rest to the poor poor souls, (poor souls)
I let you sleep. (I let you sleep)
No rest for the wicked,
But for my love I keep,
The world behind drawn curtains.
It’s my responsibility. (my responsibility)

When you smile in your dreams,
I deal with harsh reality,
The world and all it’s schemes,
As your head rests light and free,
The harsh light it gleams,
So you can sleep…
How can I wake you? (How can I wake you?)

How can I wake you,
When it feels so unfair every morning,
When I open my eyes,
And find we are still here.
I’d rather let you dream without me.
(I’d rather let you dream)
(I’d rather let you dream)

Without me…

Log in to write a note
June 5, 2021

This is gorgeous. Thank you for sharing.