Writing Therapy

 

I recently started writing out a traumatic experience. An experience that, at the time, felt so horrific I couldn’t put it into words. I couldn’t talk about it for years, when I did try to talk about it I had to be very careful how I worded it, who I talked to, and what I allowed to become of the conversation. This situation was used against me a few times too. The whole thing is almost 15 years old, and I still hate talking about it, have nightmares, and deal with the flashbacks… so writing about it seemed like it might be a really bad idea.

The funny thing is; after I finished writing it, which took a solid day (lots of breaks), I just looked at it and laughed.

I can’t believe I’ve allowed this to take up so much of my life, that it has hurt so much. I almost just want to delete the whole thing and forget about it, but I also want to keep it in order to keep myself in check about how much I should really care. Who knows, maybe someday I’ll even share it.

Log in to write a note
April 20, 2019

It’s exactly why I write here…it gives me perspective and interrupts a lot of the disturbing memories that sometimes take hold….glad you found some perspective thru exploring your traumatic experience in writing.

April 21, 2019

I’m a few years removed from an experience that affected me in that way… I’m still kinda of there.  Although I haven’t hit the laughing phase of it (and likely won’t), I tend to hang on to it because of what I have been able to take away from it.  I guess in the end, that’s what matters.  I hope you continue to find peace with it, and it is good you can laugh at it now.

Best to you, and Happy Easter!