Hearing your voice in all the crowded noise

Is it harder now then ever to really know who you are?

Are we interjecting recency bias into the idea that identify has become more convoluted and difficult now then ever before? Perhaps this is a silly notion in the grand scheme of things. The notion of trying to find our identity probably falls closer to the upper tiers of of maslow’s hierarchy of needs.  Historically these wern’t such issues as the real paradigm of the times were more of the basic elements of needs. Thus deeply analyzing and examining ones identity seemed a much profound issue.

Are we conflating a minor issue now that really shouldn’t be an issue? Maybe deeply thinking and processing about who you are is not the path to achieving the best version of yourself. Maybe attaining the best version of yourself is ensuring the fundamental bases are rock solid. Through simplistic success you can identify who. you. are.

I’m amazed by how many people in today’s society are searching for self-esteem and self actualization who are not meeting their basic needs sufficiently. They are striving to achieve things that they are not adequately equipped to wield or even search out.

Perhaps this is where my hangups reside. I am trying to find that “thing” that I am great at. The thing that is my higher calling. But I am finding along the way, or rather re-assessing that maybe there is no singular “thing” that is of a higher calling for me. That maybe my higher calling is just being the best version of me and that it starts with attaining the basics. I am fortunate in that I live in a world where I dont have to fight very hard to be housed or feed. I have health care available to me. I need not try very hard to to attain my basic needs but yet my basic needs as a human go largley left ignored. Perhaps because it is easy to attain.

 

I personally have to do a better job of really hammering down on the basic things that I know I need to do and achieve. Ignoring these little things exasperates bigger underlying issues. This will also leave me unable to attain the higher tiers of self actualization.

I’ve got a lot of work to do as a person. Admitting that is a big step for me…

 

Currently listening to Jordan Peterson so my writing has tailed off. Will write soon…

Log in to write a note