into the closet

this is going to sound really odd, but i’m seriously, seriously considering moving remi’s crib into the closet under the stairs.

harry potter, much?

actually, it’s fairly large under there, and she only has a mini crib so it’d be perfect.

here’s the thing: on the weekend, jeff stays up after work to get onto a different schedule so he can attend church with us on sunday. our time slot is 9 am, and he typically goes to bed at 8 am. so on saturday, he stays up until 10ish before going to bed.

when he does this, remi sleeps. she stays asleep until 10, like she’s supposed to, unlike other days where i’m lucky if she sleeps until 8:30.

when i go up to go to bed around 11 at night, she almost always wakes up. our door doesnt close quietly so there’s that, plus, it’s like she can JUST TELL when i’m there.

i feel like if she had her own room, she’d sleep much better. maybe not all night, but more than she does now.

we only have two bedrooms and i’m panicking about the prospect of having to move her out of our room. if i put her in with jace, he’ll wake her for sure. there’s no “quiet” in a nearly 3 year old’s vocabulary, especially not after a whole night’s sleep. i could put her to bed earlier, so that she gets up when jace does, but that would mean bed for her at 6 pm. that means being done with everything by 5:30. with jeff getting up at 3 pm, that would really, really suck.

i wish we made enough to live in a 3 bedroom house, but we just dont. if we didnt have pets, we could apply to live in section 8 housing (which is SO SO nice… my grandmother lives there and i want to cry whenever we visit) but they dont take pets and i dont feel it’s fair to uproot my animals’ lives just for my comfort.

anyway. just thinking out loud. i guess my other option is to sleep on the couch and let remi have our room… oy.

the international breastfeeding symbol

photobucket

Log in to write a note
June 8, 2013

I just barely logged out of OD when I saw your entry on the front page. lol. So of course I had to come back to read your entry! 🙂 I think that sounds kind of funny having a baby in a closet, but at the same time, she’s not going to know any better or even remember it! My friend’s toddler sleeps in the family computer room on her toddler bed. Used to have her crib in there earlier. My friend also felt that Lucy would sleep better in her own room. I think it must work pretty nice, because she sleeps there now.

June 11, 2013

RYN: Aww, it’s okay about not noting as much. I’m glad to know you still ready though! Thank you! 🙂 And I feel the same way about wishing I had extra meds for emergencies! I understand about the dangers of being careless and overdosing and stuff, but can’t we put a bottle in reserve or something??

June 16, 2013

RYN: I find it a bit mystifying, myself. But hey, whatever makes him happy. *shrug*